We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG portions, pretty good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thirstys Brew Pub & Grill

Thirstys Brew Pub & Grill
2704 Vine St, Ste B, Hays, KS 67601-1971
785-628-8284
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 85 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BIG portions, pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's a typical bar with a slightly more diverse menu than other typical bars. The food was pretty good, and a lot more than we expected for the price! We both ordered dinner entrees, and were uncomfortably stuffed even with plenty of food left on our plates. The cole slaw is divine. We asked the server to find out the secret ingredient, and she said it's heavy whipping cream! Not for the healthy eaters. The restaurant is big, and there were several large parties that looked like sports teams. It's sort of loud. Bottom line: Better food than a chain restaurant and BIG portions. Otherwise, your typical American bar experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, has something for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went on a weekend to watch a game and was seated at the bar. Great family atmosphere in the restaurant, great sports atmosphere in the bar area. Clean, and very well laid out. I had the Prime Rib, and I must say it was outstanding. Great value for the money, great food, great service. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Upscale Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pretty impressive for good 'ol Hays! A little on the pricey side but the food is good. Service seemed a little slow but OK overall.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is huge and can accommodate a lot of people as well as our big group we went with. Food was good and atmosphere was great. I'd go back and would recommend stopping here if you are on i70

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stopped in for a few beers, service is fast and friendly. Plenty of TV's with something different on each one. Lots of unique decor...car hoods, over size basketball hoops...Give them a try!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thirstys Brew Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirstys Brew Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.