We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak Easy On/Off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
3203 Vine Hays, Hays, KS 67601
785-628-8646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Hays
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Steak Easy On/Off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Was traveling down the road with my adult son and wanted to treat him to a nice restaurant instead of fast food. Looked at the reviews and thought we would try. I had the ribeye medium rare and my son had the prime rib medium. My steak was outstanding along with the mash potato and steamed brocolli. My son thoroughly enjoyed his prime, though I tried a piece and it was simply ok. Along with two draft Fat Tires, which were delicious, the total was under $60 with tax and tip. And out we went down the road to the next stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    12
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The desk clerk at our hotel suggested this place and described it as an upscale Applebee's. Now there's an oxymoron for you. The food was okay, especially the Jack Daniels steak. But if you were dropped in blindfolded you could be in any chain steakhouse anywhere in the country. Just saying.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant resembles any of the Lone Star Steakhouse Restaurants. Food is consistently good, service is prompt, and they have daily specials, including cocktails, so you know what to expect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Whiskey Creek Hays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way through. Just off I-70 south on Hwy 183, convenient to gas stations and hotels. We were seated right away in the bar area. Our server was very attentive and made sure we had water and bread before our meal arrived. She never let our glasses get below half! The food was excellent! I had the filet and my husband had the Prime Rib. The loaded baked potato was delicious! Price was reasonable for a steak place. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love the bread before hand....it is amazing! I had the hoss burger and it was yummy and certainly filled me up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.