We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pheasant Run Pancake House

Pheasant Run Pancake House
3201 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Pheasant Run)
(785) 628-1044
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 82 Restaurants in Hays
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good start to the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

An older restaurant, obviously favored by the locals but served good, hot breakfast. Good portions with nice coffee and won't break the bank. Will go again next ime we are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    23
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Breakfast was tasty and the price was very reasonable. Service was fast but kind of felt like a bug in a jar when we walked in, being checked out by all the locals. :-)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The place to eat breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Best place in town to eat breakfast. Home cooking and tastes like it. Just what a mom and pop place should be like. What hotel breakfast?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast from a local business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Ate breakfast with the family. The traditional egg dishes were good, as was the sausage and hash browns. The sausage-gravy was also very good. I had an omelette, and it seemed like it was made with "eggs" from a box, and was nothing special, and the folks that ordered pancakes commented that it should not be necessary to use a knife to cut pancakes.

The service was very good, the place was clean and the food was decent. We prefer to eat at local establishments whenever we can, and this place did not disappoint.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“bad service, cold eggs, burned toast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went there with my son, for breakfast, so sorry we did. The service was nasty, she had a cold and was wiping her nose on her shirt sleeve, didn't get order for at least 45 minutes eggs cold toast burned and asked for hot sauce 4 times before just gettin up and walking out..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pheasant Run Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Pheasant Run Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pheasant Run Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.