We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Shoppe Cafe

Soda Shoppe Cafe
800 Main St, Hays, KS 67601
(785) 625-7323
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 79 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Odessa, MO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

They need a sign directing customers to the entrance--two storefronts down on the corner. (You enter thru the office supply store and walk thru an antique store to get to the cafe.) Once we found the entrance we visited the Em 'n Me antique store before eating.

They have a very nice (& large) salad bar as well as a specialty sandwich menu with daily specials. I had the salad bar and my wife had the daily special: Grilled Turkey & Swiss (sub w/Provolone). The food was very good. The service was friendly, but once we got our food, they disappeared. I had to go to the counter to ask for ketchup.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Francis, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Your Avarage Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Soda Shoppe Cafe has a cool and friendly atmosphere. Their food is amazing and they have really good milkshakes. The only thing we didn't like was their hours, they are only open for lunch so you can't enjoy them in the evening. It would also be a plus if they could get a little more space because it becomes uncomfortably crowded.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Add a little nostalgia to your freshly prepared meal or ice cream treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Soda Shoppe has great sandwiches/wraps made up fresh just for you. In addition, you can order a luscious soda, flavored coke, sundae, or banana split to your specfications. The soda fountain has those old fashion spinning stools in case you want to show your grandkids what it was like to go to a soda fountain in the old days. I think this restaurant has the best reuben sandwiches in the state. Each day there is a luncheon special with local favorites.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, KS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the special. It was good.. Our chicken stuffing w/ cream cheese sauce, dinner roll and creamed peas evoked memories of harvest dinners. Good food. Chocolate peanut butter milkshake made it worth the trek. Warning: to get to the cafe you enter an office supply store and walk through an antique shop first. Overall, nice place

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“loved the sodas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

ate here a couple of times for lunch - I hate sweet drinks but I loved the sodas - not very sweet - I imagine they are like the old fashioned kind; the milkshakes are just heavenly!! There was a fresh salad bar which my children loved. We had the lunch specials and I could not believe how tasty and a great value and the portions were just right!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Shoppe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Soda Shoppe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Shoppe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.