We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe

Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe
4107 N Vine St, Hays, KS 67601
(785) 628-9900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 79 restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Nolanville, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Travel day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in hear after a long day on the road. Food was good and service was great. Got to unwind some before going to our hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    11
    8
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mexican Fan Fare in KS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed the decor. The wait staff wasn't overly friendly but the atmosphere made up for it. I like the peppers hanging all over.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were passing through Hays when we stopped for the night. We decided to try Carlos O'Kelly's. The lady that greeted us when we walked in the door was very friendly. She asked if we had ever been here before. When we told her we had not. She proceeded to tell us they had a new menu and recommended we try the Brisket Tacos which was her favorite new item on the menu. We took her suggestion and were not disappointed. It was amazing! We had two servers, one was in training, they were both very attentive. We have no complaints about the food or the service. If you do decide to go to Carlos O'Kelly's try the Brisket Tacos you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'New' Fish Tacos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had the 'new' "broiled" fish tacos at lunch. Boo - not my favorite! Not much there for the price, the fish was cold and the accompaniements were pretty non-existent. I would NOT recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satanta, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fun atmosphere, good food, clean, wait staff could have been better. They seemed to keep losing our table, but the place was crowded. Still a good dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.