We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe - CLOSED

Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe
4107 N Vine St, Hays, KS 67601
(785) 628-9900
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate here years ago and remembered it to be much better than it was. It's was just OK tex-mex, nothing spectacular. My margarita was good and the bill was cheap but it was just OK food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navarre
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is an established restaurant that has great food and wonderful margaritas. The services was awesome.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a very good place, family friendly, nightly drink specials...overall great experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish tacos are excellent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Everything else is sort of 'bleh' but the service rocked.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Even though I was there just this weekend, I can't for the life of me remember our waiter's name. However, as the rest of the servers around us seemed to be on the same level, I can tell you with some level of a guarantee that the service here was awesome, despite being busy on a Saturday night. Chip dishes were never empty and service was provided with a smile.

If you've been to a Carlos O'Kelly's before, the food is consistent with the rest of the chain and was therefore DELICIOUS. Gotta love Tex Mex! We tried the Chili Con Queso (a favorite cheese/meat dip for the delicious chips, which you can purchase in bags) and Fiesta Chicken Salad (AWESOME and quite filling as it's really enough for two people).

I also had a virgin Strawberry Margarita and was happy with it.

Overall, great restaurant and definitely as good as its counterparts in Wichita! No complaints. :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.