We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the fanciest, but a good stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn Hays
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Hays
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the fanciest, but a good stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Things are dated, but room and bed were fine. Ground floor room was comfortable. Fridge froze everything but we had a cooler. Staff were great. Let some items after checkout but went back a couple of hours later and front desk had everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
21
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holdrege, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I live about 2 hrs from Hays, and we decided to go there to celebrate our 15th Anniversary. We were so disappointed!! We did not get the room we reserved, when we got to our room there were stains on the carpet, and on our towels!! And then I noticed that there were 2 dead bugs in the toliet paper holder!!! Very disappointed!! Needless to saw we left the very next moring and went back to Nebraska. We ended up wasting a whole day, of our 3 day weekend.
Also charged us $5.00 more than what we were quoted.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIHays, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
It's unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy our stay with us. Our staff strives to make everyone’s stay here as pleasant as possible. I have researched your specific complaints. A review of all the online reservations showed no errors in the reservations - all reservations were made with the room types requested and no errors were made on the rates. Our records also do not indicate that the staff was informed of any issues you indicated in your complaint. Our staff is directed to handle guest complaints as they are made aware of them and all reasonable efforts are made to resolve any guest concerns.

However, based on your comments on Tripadvisor and on the Travelocity website, I’m assuming that you wanted one of our Honeymoon Suites. Those rooms are available by calling the hotel directly. We attempted to answer your question on the Travelocity website, but were not allowed to post any answer suggesting that you to call the hotel directly. The only answer allowed was a simple “yes.” One of the clerks recalls comments a guest made regarding their 15th Anniversary and offered to upgrade them to the Honeymoon Suite, but the guest declined the offer to upgrade the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hays hotels

Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Despite the fact that the building has been around for a long time, it was actually not bad inside. They had recently remodeled, it appeared. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and even though we had a end room, next to the road, it was quiet. The WIFI worked fine. Didn't use the pool or the hot tub, so can't comment on those, but did use the exercise room. They offered a variety of equipment, but not much space and one piece was kind of in the way of the TV, which was small, but I lived. Staff were very pleasant and suggested a great place for breakfast, Pheasant Run, which is on Vine St, just up the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here the second night of our 3 week road trip across country. We had never stayed in an Americas Best Value Inn before but the price was right and most reviews were ok so we gave it a shot. The outside is pretty yucky looking - old and tired. The stairs going up to the second floor were very rusty and rotting out. It is also located directly across the street from a cemetery which freaked my kids out a little. The pool did not look very clean (dirty or stained walls of the pool) so we didn't let the kids swim. We stayed on the second floor in the back building in a 2 room family suite which was quite large. The room was very clean, surprisingly, and served its purpose for an overnight stop. The kids loved having all of the extra space. Seemed to be a lot of single guys in some sort of contractor pick up trucks staying there. Not the friendliest bunch. Even though the room was fine, I had an unsafe feeling about the place due to the darkness of the back building location and the unfriendly other guests surrounding us. Didn't really seem like a family type of place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Changed rooms twice because of noise and VERY rough and rowdy clientele. Shirtless men drinking beer in the parking lot, cervesa party in the back of someone's pick up. Really scarey. Didn't feel safe so we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Older motel, older rooms and decor. Smelled of smoke. AC did not work well. Pool okay but outside and would not allow food/drinks to be at pool side. Hot tub needed de-fomer really bad. Price good but that was about all really.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is older than most of the competition, and it shows. The rooms are somewhat updated, (mainly decorative and bedding) but show plenty of wear. We were on a tight budget and that was a strong reason for picking this place. The outdoor pool was nice, in the 100+ heat. Having stayed at three other hotels in the area, I would not pick this one again, except in an emergency.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel
Best Western Hays
Hays Best Western
Address: 2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hays 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.