We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hays to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Hays
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Changed rooms twice because of noise and VERY rough and rowdy clientele. Shirtless men drinking beer in the parking lot, cervesa party in the back of someone's pick up. Really scarey. Didn't feel safe so we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    46
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
26
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Older motel, older rooms and decor. Smelled of smoke. AC did not work well. Pool okay but outside and would not allow food/drinks to be at pool side. Hot tub needed de-fomer really bad. Price good but that was about all really.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is older than most of the competition, and it shows. The rooms are somewhat updated, (mainly decorative and bedding) but show plenty of wear. We were on a tight budget and that was a strong reason for picking this place. The outdoor pool was nice, in the 100+ heat. Having stayed at three other hotels in the area, I would not pick this one again, except in an emergency.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stopped here on my way to Mt. Rushmore. Booked it on Hotels.com it was a great value! Big comfortable bed, nice and clean. Things were a bit dated, but overall great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We called at about 9 looking for a room (in fact, mooching to somehow find an affordable suite as we're affably sick of each other after 8 days and nights of cross country travel). After hearing our moaning and groaning (you know how effective two women can be at this!) the kindhearted desk clerk told us about a unique room in the hotel... a room with a king bed and a separate room with two doubles. AND it's costing less than the 'two double bed' room at our usual chain. So you'd think with such a deal it would be questionable, right? Nope. Great beds. Nice sized rooms. Separate AC and TVs. Nice bathroom. Ignore the exterior which does look a bit drab and go for it. You won't regret it. Trust me. We're princesses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

After a horrible experience with the Ramada, we came to the ABVI. The check-in clerk was very understanding and helpful. They gave us a room with updated air conditioning that worked wonderfully and quitely. The room was clean,smelled great and was at a comfortable temp when we walked in. We stayed one night at this time, but had a great sleep on very comfortable beds. I can't say enough about this hotel. A great room at a great price! In fact, we liked it so much that we stayed here on our way back. We were placed in a room facing the pool the second time around and once agian it was clean and fresh smelling. No complaints, only praise for this hotel!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed at was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good price, perfectly good place to crash for a night. Beds were comfortable and we liked that they had queens instead of doubles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Address: 2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hays 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Best Western Hays
Hays Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.