We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hays
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Hays
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Older motel, older rooms and decor. Smelled of smoke. AC did not work well. Pool okay but outside and would not allow food/drinks to be at pool side. Hot tub needed de-fomer really bad. Price good but that was about all really.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
21
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is older than most of the competition, and it shows. The rooms are somewhat updated, (mainly decorative and bedding) but show plenty of wear. We were on a tight budget and that was a strong reason for picking this place. The outdoor pool was nice, in the 100+ heat. Having stayed at three other hotels in the area, I would not pick this one again, except in an emergency.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stopped here on my way to Mt. Rushmore. Booked it on Hotels.com it was a great value! Big comfortable bed, nice and clean. Things were a bit dated, but overall great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We called at about 9 looking for a room (in fact, mooching to somehow find an affordable suite as we're affably sick of each other after 8 days and nights of cross country travel). After hearing our moaning and groaning (you know how effective two women can be at this!) the kindhearted desk clerk told us about a unique room in the hotel... a room with a king bed and a separate room with two doubles. AND it's costing less than the 'two double bed' room at our usual chain. So you'd think with such a deal it would be questionable, right? Nope. Great beds. Nice sized rooms. Separate AC and TVs. Nice bathroom. Ignore the exterior which does look a bit drab and go for it. You won't regret it. Trust me. We're princesses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

After a horrible experience with the Ramada, we came to the ABVI. The check-in clerk was very understanding and helpful. They gave us a room with updated air conditioning that worked wonderfully and quitely. The room was clean,smelled great and was at a comfortable temp when we walked in. We stayed one night at this time, but had a great sleep on very comfortable beds. I can't say enough about this hotel. A great room at a great price! In fact, we liked it so much that we stayed here on our way back. We were placed in a room facing the pool the second time around and once agian it was clean and fresh smelling. No complaints, only praise for this hotel!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed at was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good price, perfectly good place to crash for a night. Beds were comfortable and we liked that they had queens instead of doubles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

where to start? room was so small, lamps did not work, tv worked somewhat, shower did not work. fairly clean i guess. bed was like a rock and pillows were terrible. never again. with fees and taxes cost 66.00 per night. could of stayed at prairie band casino for 89.00 and they have awesome rooms. what a joke.

Room Tip: choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIHays, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hays, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Our records indicate we weren’t informed of the issues you experienced during your stay. We do ask that guests who have any problems please report them to the staff at the desk so we have the opportunity to address them and improve your experience immediately. In regards to your remark about the Prairie Band Casino hotel, we’re sorry you don’t feel we provided what they could have for a similar price. When developing our competitive pricing, we primarily consider other hotels in our city with similar amenities as ours, including things like our allowance of having a pet in the room as we show you did during your stay. Unfortunately, we can’t compare ourselves directly to a hotel such as the one at the Prairie Band casino, as it is in a town 220 miles from Hays and does not allow pets.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we assure you that it will be used to improve the experience of future guests at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Address: 2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hays 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Best Western Hays
Hays Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.