We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Life Saver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hays
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Hays
Lemoore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Life Saver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

After a horrible experience with the Ramada, we came to the ABVI. The check-in clerk was very understanding and helpful. They gave us a room with updated air conditioning that worked wonderfully and quitely. The room was clean,smelled great and was at a comfortable temp when we walked in. We stayed one night at this time, but had a great sleep on very comfortable beds. I can't say enough about this hotel. A great room at a great price! In fact, we liked it so much that we stayed here on our way back. We were placed in a room facing the pool the second time around and once agian it was clean and fresh smelling. No complaints, only praise for this hotel!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed at was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
21
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good price, perfectly good place to crash for a night. Beds were comfortable and we liked that they had queens instead of doubles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

where to start? room was so small, lamps did not work, tv worked somewhat, shower did not work. fairly clean i guess. bed was like a rock and pillows were terrible. never again. with fees and taxes cost 66.00 per night. could of stayed at prairie band casino for 89.00 and they have awesome rooms. what a joke.

Room Tip: choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIHays, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hays, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Our records indicate we weren’t informed of the issues you experienced during your stay. We do ask that guests who have any problems please report them to the staff at the desk so we have the opportunity to address them and improve your experience immediately. In regards to your remark about the Prairie Band Casino hotel, we’re sorry you don’t feel we provided what they could have for a similar price. When developing our competitive pricing, we primarily consider other hotels in our city with similar amenities as ours, including things like our allowance of having a pet in the room as we show you did during your stay. Unfortunately, we can’t compare ourselves directly to a hotel such as the one at the Prairie Band casino, as it is in a town 220 miles from Hays and does not allow pets.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we assure you that it will be used to improve the experience of future guests at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We arrived after 1 AM, tired and ready to sleep. Friendly clerk David was working, very helpful. Our TV remote wasn't working, he came right over and re-programmed it. Comfortable, clean...can't ask for too much more, especially for the price. Very comfortable bed. We had stayed at a AVI in Albequerque, not as clean as this one. Nice place!

Room Tip: Love that you can drive right up to your room door, helpful when you're virtually living out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Colorado. The reviews said it was clean, and it was, so we booked it for our trip back as well. Staff was friendly, towels were plentiful. Room was sort of updated, but beds were comfortable. Nice to have a fridge and microwave as this helped us eat dinner in to save money. Furthur down Vine than other hotels and located across from a cemetary, so you are a little isolated, but not bad.
*Shower has a ring on the spigot that you pull to get the water coming out of the shower head. We had to call the office to learn how to use it!
Would stay here again. Did not use the pool or spa.

Room Tip: We had the same rooms both times right at the front by the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hi. I personally stayed here a few months back and was pleasantly surprised. It was affordable and clean.
My brother as coming out west to visit, and Hays is basically the half-way point on the trip, so, based on my experience, I decided to book a room for him here.
I made the reservation during 3rd shift, and Dave was very helpful and polite, even calling me back when there was an issue with the credit release form.
When my brother arrived, I asked him how the room was, and I was surprised to hear him say he was not happy. He said there was dried urine on the toilet base, and that the shower barely had any pressure at all, and that there was grit and such on the bathroom floor. He said the bed was comfortable.....but after 14 hours of driving, most are.
I was really upset to hear that he didn't enjoy his stay, as I had looked forward to making this motel my family's regular pit stop on our cross country journeys to visit one another.
I will be heading east this summer, and yes, I am willing to give this hotel another shot. Sometimes you just get a lazy housekeeper, or an over worked housekeeper, and things get missed. Which is what a head housekeeper is for......to double check rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here in 2003 when it was a Best Western so it's not new but they have done a lot of remodeling and updating. Our room wasn't large by today's standards but it was clean and quiet even though it was near the street. We did have two problems which couldn't be remedied because it was Saturday evening and the maintenance person had already left. We couldn't turn the thermostat down enough for our liking and the tv didn't get cable channels. The desk offered us another room but we decided it wasn't worth the move. A Walgreen's drug store is next door in case you need anything. If you need an overnight place and aren't planning a "hotel weekend" where you're planning to spend all of your time at the motel, this is very satisfactory and a great price especially if you join the motel's membership club.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hays

Address: 2524 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hays 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Best Western Hays
Hays Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.