We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4002 General Hays Road, Hays, KS 67601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redding, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

Another great new Hampton Hotel by Hilton, it was better than the Hilton Garden Inn we stayed in the night before in Wichita, KS! No complaints as the kids had the sleeper sofas and we had the king bed. :)

  • Liked — location, new, Hilton Honors program
  • Disliked — no Cracker Barrel anywhere around! :)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    84
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
75
16
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Our family of three had to travel to Hays unexpectedly for a funeral. I had booked online and got a AAA discount. We chose this hotel mainly because it has a pool and free wireless Internet. Lo and behold when we get there, the pool area is being worked on and the Internet connection speed was slow (at least it was when I tried it). This is the newest hotel in town, just off the highway, and I'd say it's probably the best one we've stayed in (we've also been to the Holiday Inn and Sleep Inn). It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room, and everything felt more spacious than the Sleep Inn. The desk staff was pleasant, even when we had to find emergency medical care for bronchitis in the middle of the night. I was hoping for a better breakfast than we got, though. The scrambled eggs were very powdery and tasteless. Would probably stay there again but would still bargain hunt to get the best rates.

  • Liked — Refrigerator and microwave in room, also room thermostats
  • Disliked — AC would blast on and freeze the bed closest to the unit
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

After reading the previous review, I was really scared about staying here. There was no need to worry though b/c our stay was delightful. We arrived late (midnight), but was greeted by a very friendly desk clerk. We were put in a super clean room that looked brand new. I don't know how new this hotel is, but I felt like we were the first to stay in the room we were in. The breakfast was good too. Hampton has a dependably good breakfast everywhere.

  • Liked — It was right off of I-70 & SUPER clean
  • Disliked — can't think of a single thing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora, ne
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

During an extended stay, I had the fortune to stay at the Hampton Inn in Hays. In room 302, I woke up the next mormning to find between 12 & 15 bedbugs in the room. They appologized and put me in room 425. Within 19 days I had two more bedbugs in the bed. They said they are pet friendly, I didn't think they ment bedbugs.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — bedbugs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We hit the road early for a trip from CO to AR; and made it as far as Hays on the first day. We stopped in and they had a room. The property looks relatively new and we were very pleased with the stay. If we find ourselves in the area again...we'll be checking in here.

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Disliked — come on...its KS
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

There are 2 Hampton Inns very close together in Hays. Don't get them mixed up! It seems that some of the reviews here have. This hotel seems to be pretty new. I value new and clean so I should say that up front. The room was both. The fancy beds that some of the Hampton Inns have now are wonderful. They have great bedding and pillows - lots of pillows. The bathroom was clean and well appointed - actually reminded me more of an expensive hotel than a Hampton Inn. The shower had the adjustable shower spray head and was nice and high for taller people. The water pressure was very good and I only noticed briefly that the temperature was affected by someone else showering. I just had to turn it hotter and it was fine. One thing I should say is that I wouldn't call the rooms spacious - we had a 2 queen room and couldn't have fit in a rollaway easily. It wasn't small just not big. I can't say about the gym or pool because we weren't there long enough to use them. There was an IHOP basically in the parking lot which was convenient when we wanted to not go far for something to eat. We had the breakfast at the hotel. Nothing spectacular but they did have some hot items (fried eggs and sausage). The person stocking the breakfast bar was friendly and quick with requests. A wonderful find in Hays. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Construction around the hotel made it difficult to get to.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I wasn't happy going to this part of Kansas but this hotel was great. The staff was very nice. The gym was way more than I expected in this hotel. The pool was also very nice. I won't be going back to Hays in the near future, but if I did I would definitely stay in this hotel. Also if you are in the area, I woudl recommend Gela's Diner in downtown Hays. The food was great.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70

Address: 4002 General Hays Road, Hays, KS 67601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hays
#3 Family Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hays-North Of i-70 Hotel Hays
Hays Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.