We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal, could use a good cleaning, but I would eat there again if passing through” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Mike's Steakhouse

Montana Mike's Steakhouse
3216 Vine St, Hays, KS 67601
785-628-8786
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #47 of 79 restaurants in Hays
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Montana Mike’s menu offers grilled chicken, baby back ribs, chicken-fried steak, catfish and of course our mouth-watering steaks including Mike’s 22-ounce Sirloin, a Mile High 16-ounceRibeye or a delicious Porterhouse. Guests can choose from a list of delicious appetizers including fried mushrooms, Mike’s famous potato boats or hand-breaded onion rings. We also offer fresh salads, pastas and other seasonal menus and promotions throughout the year.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, could use a good cleaning, but I would eat there again if passing through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were ready for a late lunch/early dinner and pulled off I-70 to find somewhere to eat. The food was good and they were quite accommodating about taking my daughter's steak back to the kitchen to be cooked a bit more. The waitress offered us to-go cups for our drinks, even our waters, since we were driving so far.

My main complaint was how dirty the restaurant was. The windows have wooden slat blinds that need a very thorough cleaning. The window sills/back of the booths need cleaning as well. The bathroom was fine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    15
    8
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wast of money !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Steak was tough and over cooked. Server did not care! Thier was no manager fix the problem! not a good place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Typical small town steak joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a safe bet for a stop along I70, especially with kids. Youll be fine if you remember that this is not Ruth's Chris nor Capitol Grill. Also your server is most likely a student from Hays High or FHSU. Maybe a step below Outback with very good bar food and decent ribs and chicken frieds. My server was an extremely pleasant kid who tried really hard. I did not try the steaks, but have heard that they are good enough and an excellent value from the folks I was with. I'd stop by again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The service here is much better than the location in Oakley.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blah”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The warm greeting we were given at the door didn't compensate for the lukewarm fare--and I don't mean the temperature of the food, either! My party ordered chicken, both grilled and with rice, and on a sandwich, hot wings, vegetables, and a loaded baked potato. Everything was average to below average. I would not eat there again; choose a predictable chain restaurant instead.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Mike's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Montana Mike's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Mike's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.