We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salsa and Chips!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun Mexican Grill

Cancun Mexican Grill
1011 Elm St, Hays, KS 67601, Hays, KS 67601
(785) 621-4550
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 80 restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Best Salsa and Chips!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Definitely one of the locals favorites. The chips are always fresh and the salsa always has the best flavor. The servers are always friendly. The food is always fresh and hot plus the margaritas are exceptional. Friendly atmosphere and great service and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    16
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Russell, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service. We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were told by friends that it was a great place to eat. We agree. Lots of choices and can't remember the name of the dish I had (shrimp, rice, onions, pepper's, mushrooms, cheese) but it was yummy. The staff was friendly and good about refilling drinks etc. We will be back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent well priced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Popped in for lunch and was met by friendly wait-staff. Food was exceptionally well priced - $7 for a good sized chimichanga and burrito with rice and beans. The chimichanga was not especially crispy and the filling was lacking flavour. The cheese seemed quite processed and the beans were not the best ever. Aside from this it was pretty good, especially for the price!

Decor was cheesy/tacky as seems to be obligatory with mexican restaurants in small towns but everything was clean and the general atmosphere was pleasant.

Overall, I would recommend on the basis of quality for money although I personally prefer Gutierrez for local mexican food!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have eaten at Cancun Mexican Grill several times and the food was excellent. Their service is quick and the atmosphere is fun. They have a fantastic lava bowl of molcajete. but only order one unless you are really hungry. The chimichanga especial is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbjhb
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I always enjoyed going to this spot when it was Coffee Rules, so stopped in the Cancun Mexican Grill when we were in town recently. The chips and salsa were delightful and it got better from there. The service was rapid. The luncheon menu was EXTREMELY affordable and I have to think I got as much food on my fahita platter as they serve at night, because you couldn't fit any more on there. It would have been plenty for two and we took a lot home.

It was delicious, seemed very authentic and was piping hot. I noticed that they were making guacamole from fresh avocados right at the table for some people. We hadn't order that, but saw others getting this and it was impressive. The decor has been completely updated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cancun Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cancun Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.