We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wanted to stop, glad we finally did” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sternberg Museum of Natural History

Sternberg Museum of Natural History
3000 Sternberg Drive, Hays, Hays, KS 67601
785-628-4286, 877-332-1165
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Hays
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Fort Hays State University, the museum is dedicated to collecting and preserving plant and animal specimens pertaining to the Great Plains.
Berryton, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always wanted to stop, glad we finally did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had seen the museum from the hiway but never stopped in on our way to other places, today we made the stop and glad we did. It's a very nice place and the man at the information desk was very nice and gave us some information about the exhibits and a map of the museum and some history about the animals there. I loved the 100+ yr old turtle in the lobby, he liked my orange sweater apparently and kept swimming in the direction I walked. First snapping turtle I had ever seen stand up on his tail and look like a big teddy bear, you just wanted to hold him, but yeas he could snap your head off, he was so big. The dinasaurs, snakes, etc. all were really worth the stop and I was so impressed with the entire place. Plan on 2 hours or more if you can.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fossils are Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The amount of marine fossils that the Sternberg has is simply amazing. Definitely worth stopping in for!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a great stop to stretch your legs and learn some history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a first class museum with dinosaurs and all sorts of things from that era. Your kids will love it, too! Very well designed. Definitely worth the price and the stop on the Interstate.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great kid entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was wary about taking my 2 1/2 year old here because, well, it's a museum. It turned out to be a great experience! There was plenty for the adults to see, but the entertainment for my son was great. There is a sand pit to dig for fossils and the discovery room with tons of hands on play. After 2 hours my son was still having a great time. The museum is relatively small, but there is plenty of exhibit space.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Grove, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“daughter loves it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is really fun to watch the kids when the reptiles and dinos move!!! It takes about a hour to go thru, my daughter also loves the gift shop!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sternberg Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Sternberg Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sternberg Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.