We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK motel 6, good place to stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Hays

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Hays to your Saves list
Motel 6 Hays
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Hays
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3404 Vine St, I-70 at Exit 159, Hays, KS 67601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Hays
Jefferson City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK motel 6, good place to stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Looks bad from the outside, run down and a lot of litter in the parking lot. The employees were very pleasant and the room was clean.

We prefer budget motels and are willing to accept a small room with no decor for a low rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
12
11
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

It has clean beds, and while they do not offer a breakfast (only coffee), there's a McDonald's just about 60 ft away and you can get a breakfast there, so no problem. Likewise, a short walk across a parking lot is a Viilage Inn restaurant, where you can get a reasonably priced and quite good dinner, and a breakfast in the morning if you have time to wait a bitr longer than at McDonald's.

I stayed there many times, and will so in a future

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were coming out of the Black Hills of South Dakota headed east towards Ark. The temperature was at 108 as we pulled into Hays. The Motel 6 was by the freeway and had easy access. The Air Conditioning in the room was excellent as was the housekeeping of the room. We were so beat from the heat that we cleaned up and got a bite at one of the nearby eating places within a few short steps. We came back and enjoyed to cool room and napped till supper and did a pie run at the next door Village Inn before retiring that night. The Motel is in a quite secure area with no problems, the staff was friendly and the prices were fair. To me having good air conditioning is a key factor when the temps are as high as they were this year. This place was all Pro's and No Con's.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We didn't expect the Ritz, of course. But what we got was just the bare bones of a habitable room. Paper-thin walls. Smelly carpeting. Blankets that resembled carpet padding more than a bed covering (and full of cigarette holes -- in a non-smoking room, no less).
On the plus side, the bathroom looks to have been remodeled, and was pretty clean.
There was an extra fee for WiFi Internet service (aw, come one, really?). And for what we got, the room wasn't exactly cheap to begin with, so the add-on fee was kind of an insult.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks goodness -- one redeeming factor!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here on a trip back from Labrador and Newfoundland. Couldn't believe the senior rate. $35.00 plus tax. WIFI is an extra $3.00. Room clean, bed comfortable and motel was quiet. What else could you ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for bottom floor in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stop on our way from KC to Denver on vacation. This was a great affordable place to stay with a very friendly front staff, the cleanest pool I've ever seen. This was a no frills motel that was exactly what we needed to stay one night and get back on the road with some money still in our pocket.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

If I could rate this place at ZERO, I would!

We had stayed at this location in '07 and it was great, so we made it a point to stop here again during our most recent vacation travels.... BAD IDEA! This place has SERIOUSLY gone down hill!

The office smelled like a smoker's break room, and our NON-SMOKING room was also stale and smoky. There were wads of HAIR along the edges of the walls & beds - indicating that the room had NOT been thoroughly vacuumed in a LONG time! The interior of the room was in desperate need of repairs/remodeling. The air conditioner was broken. The bath towels stunk like smoke. The sheets on one of the beds were thin and permenately stained with who knows what! The second bed had somewhat cleaner looking sheets but when I sat on the bed for a few moments I began getting BITEN by either fleas or bed bugs.....GROSS!

We went and asked for another room, but the clerk wasn't overly pleasant about it. The room we ended up with at least had a working air conditioner, but wasn't much of an improvement over the other room.

My husband had attempted to use the wi-fi, but the hotel's router was too weak, and we were only a few doors away from the office. He had to stand outside the office to get his computer to work....

We would have demanded a refund and left, but we were tired, frustrated, and traveling with our dog. After driving over 10 hours that day, we didn't have the energy to try to find another area hotel that welcomed pets....

Avoid this Motel 6 at all costs!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hays

Address: 3404 Vine St, I-70 at Exit 159, Hays, KS 67601
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hays 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Hays
Hays Motel 6
Hays Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Hays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.