We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service...a gem of a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dos De Oros

El Dos De Oros
1002 E 41st street, Hays, KS
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: zip code 67601 phone number 785-321-4709
Restaurant details
Description: zip code 67601 phone number 785-321-4709
Waldport, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service...a gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We ate here at the suggestion of the hotel staff where we were staying in Hays. We stayed at the Best Western right next door. We had initially thought we would go across the highway to another restaurant and staff suggested El Dos De Oros.

We are very glad we did. I had shrimp fajitas and Tom had tamales and a combination plate. We really enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent. The restaurant was clean and it was busy. Always a good sign.

The menu is varied and extensive, but not too big. The decor is colorful and bright. It's just a great place to enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Small with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I don't think my tamales had any meat in then at all. I did not like the beans and my husband did not like the rice. His steak was unevenly cooked but flavorful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food service and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is yummy!!! I have ate at a lot of Mexican reatraunts and have experienced real authentic mexican and this is a really good place to eat. Service was fast, friendly, and reasonably priced. Will be going back most definitely when we are Hays. This coming from a person who does not like to eat out. Cooked fresh and made to order no box or imitation here!! Yum, yum, yum!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Easy access off the highway and great food! And prompt service. Our party from Grandparents down to grandkids was very happy with the outing. Visited over a year ago and was happy to see they were still in business and apparently well loved by people in Hays.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fast service and easy highway access!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The sauce is really good and different. We had a good portion from the lunch fajitas. We usually stop at Applebee's as we drive through but this was faster and taste great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Dos De Oros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dos De Oros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.