We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast service and easy highway access!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dos De Oros

El Dos De Oros
1002 E 41st street, Hays, KS
785-621-4709
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: zip code 67601 phone number 785-321-4709
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fast service and easy highway access!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The sauce is really good and different. We had a good portion from the lunch fajitas. We usually stop at Applebee's as we drive through but this was faster and taste great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jrbjhb
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Packed! And with good reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat at El dos De Oros quite often and really love it. Anything you buy is excellent and fully authentic we are told - by those who know. The place was packed, but they had plenty of food and good service. The tables and chairs there are hand-painted and really cute and colorful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unmatched in Hays, and among best we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thought we'd never find Mexican food to match what we enjoyed living in San Diego. Dos de Oros is every bit as good, but less expensive. Located in a nondescript strip mall, it's a bit hard to find but so worth it! Carne Asada tacos, the "America" (cheese enchiladas topped w/chicken and cheese) and Enchiladas Suizas are hard to beat. Two other Mexican restaurants in Hays are very good, but are just a bit short of Dos de Oros on freshness, flavor and service. We eat there 2-3 times a month, and have never had a bad experience or item.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a nice restaurant with good food. The ingredients were fresh and the dishes were varied and well-made. My husband has rather high standards and I only heard positive comments regarding the experience. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Fresh, well prepared food. Clean restaurant and nice folks. Guacamole salad was just shredded taco lettuce, guac, cheese and a slice of tomato. Nothing special but it was still good and the ingredients were fresh and it was a nice portion size. Tacos and burritos were good. Beef was a little salty but otherwise well spiced and not greasy at all.

Don't let the "by the highway behind the gas station" location fool you. This is good ethnic food outside of bigger metros like KC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Dos De Oros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dos De Oros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.