We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packed! And with good reason.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dos De Oros

El Dos De Oros
1002 E 41st street, Hays, KS
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 79 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: zip code 67601 phone number 785-321-4709
Restaurant details
Description: zip code 67601 phone number 785-321-4709
jrbjhb
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Packed! And with good reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat at El dos De Oros quite often and really love it. Anything you buy is excellent and fully authentic we are told - by those who know. The place was packed, but they had plenty of food and good service. The tables and chairs there are hand-painted and really cute and colorful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unmatched in Hays, and among best we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thought we'd never find Mexican food to match what we enjoyed living in San Diego. Dos de Oros is every bit as good, but less expensive. Located in a nondescript strip mall, it's a bit hard to find but so worth it! Carne Asada tacos, the "America" (cheese enchiladas topped w/chicken and cheese) and Enchiladas Suizas are hard to beat. Two other Mexican restaurants in Hays are very good, but are just a bit short of Dos de Oros on freshness, flavor and service. We eat there 2-3 times a month, and have never had a bad experience or item.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a nice restaurant with good food. The ingredients were fresh and the dishes were varied and well-made. My husband has rather high standards and I only heard positive comments regarding the experience. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Fresh, well prepared food. Clean restaurant and nice folks. Guacamole salad was just shredded taco lettuce, guac, cheese and a slice of tomato. Nothing special but it was still good and the ingredients were fresh and it was a nice portion size. Tacos and burritos were good. Beef was a little salty but otherwise well spiced and not greasy at all.

Don't let the "by the highway behind the gas station" location fool you. This is good ethnic food outside of bigger metros like KC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a small, but popular place. It was busy, but we got a table right away. Good quality Mexican food!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Dos De Oros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dos De Oros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.