We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's pretty tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Highland Hotel and Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3017 10th Street, Great Bend, KS 67530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Great Bend
Ingalls, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's pretty tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at this motel during a farm and ranch expo. The first night the air conditioner did not work, the tub drained very slow and the next morning the toilet wouldn't fill with water to flush. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. The next night the air worked but the water wouldn't run in the shower because the handle wouldn't turn. Moved to another room...tub still drains slow. We did appreciate the person at the desk listening to our complaints respectfully. And I know when you fill up with people all kind of things can happen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    5
    9
    16
See reviews for
14
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I was in great bend for the month of august for work. Very accomodating and friendly staff. They treated me like family while i was here which is rare and very refreshing when your on the road a lot. They are very conviently located in the center of town which is an added plus. Overall i was very happy with my stay and will stay there anytime im in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had our all year school reunion here in July 2013. Good clean accommodations. Great food served quickly and professionally to a very large group. Management was very easy to work with and helped with every request or concern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spend a lot a time on the road, my company and my family came to Kansas for work. Mike and his staff took great care of my guys and my family. The restaurant and bar is very clean and the service was excellent. The pool is the cleanest pool I have ever seen. Anything we asked for Mike or his staff made it happen. Our rooms had up to date tv's beds, fridge, ac. The building is an older building however they are doing many renovations to it. If you go to Great Bend KS the Highland hotel and convention center is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on 8/2/13-8/9/13 paid w/credit card; & 8/10-8/13 w/cash. while waiting for our home to be finished. they charged us $398.65, 108.75, 50.00. The rms were suppose to be $40 not $50. Per night they were double paid for the nights paid w/cash. we cleaned our own rm. They were dirty moldy, the drain was clogged & leaked. we had to fix ourselves. due to them not fixing properly. the pool & whirlpool was green. weeds all over & tall grass. we had to move due to a/c. no discount. no free continential breakfast. Overall for for 11 days was hell! with filth i deep cleaned our room. but my biggest problem was my c/c being charged!!! I've disputed the entire bill! they will not get a penny out of me! Or a recommendation for any service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T, Manager at Highland Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Guest has paid twice by the credit card and we have her signature on the signing sheet. For her to claim that she was charged more is utterly wrong. For the fact there is an outstanding balance that she has not paid as yet.

The boyfriend of the guest who wrote the review was an employee of our hotel and worked in the maintenance department. If we have a maintenance problem in the guest room, our maintenance staff is going to fix it. I don't understand why she claimed that "We had to fix it". If she was not happy with the accommodation from her first day, she should have approached the management and not stayed for 11 days. That itself is questionable.

Guest also brought two dogs to the room and did not even informed the hotel about the same.

This review is totally baseless and untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Bend hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

While staying in Great Bend , we have had to resort to this old Holiday Inn which has been the Highland hotel for a while. The facility has not had a renovation in many years and is tired and shabby but clean. The cheap beds are not comfortable like a newer hotel, no flat screens, carpet is bunched, pillow are old,old,old. Pool is old but nice and warm, need ropes at deep end and a cleaner deck area, Jacuzzi is lukewarm, missing drain cover like the pool, and not in good repair , gym area is tired. The employees are nice and friendly and the ones I met we're willing to help, ( no pool towels, room had 2 bath towels, one room in our party had to move as the ac was hot. The owners are on premise but either cannot afford the upgrades this hotel desperately needs or doesn't "get it" . Room was $79 with the "manager" discount but would be ok with more if the hotel was a better stay. Owner needs to do the math on a better occupancy rate like the "Best Western" across the street which is always full as it is much nicer.this hotel could be much more than it is right now with some renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Most accomadating and professional staff always going above and beyond the call of duty to meet the needs of our business meeting. While the Hotel and facilities are older, everything was clean and most furniture and appliances were new. The few issues raised by the sheer size of our group were addressed promptly, professionally, and with a smile. If your planning a business event you won't find a better value, and I've never experienced hotel Manager so willing to make miracles happen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3017 10th Street, Great Bend, KS 67530
Location: United States > Kansas > Great Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Great Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Largest full service Hotel in Great Bend that has a Restaurant (excellent food), Lounge & Fun Dome all under one roof. 171 guest rooms which include the normal amenities i.e wifi, coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable TV. Fun Dome includes over sized indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, games, exercise room, coin operated guest laundry. Over 25,000 sq. ft of meeting space so whether your meeting is large or small we have a room for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highland Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Great Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.