We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City

AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3020 East Kansas Ave, Garden City, KS 67846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a professional Motorcoach Operator, for 30 plus years I have spent a lot of time in motels/hotels as part of my job. When I started, the norm for staying in rooms was a small room, T.V. if you were lucky you might have an A/C.

Yesterday, I left Pueblo Greyhound Bus Terminal at 2:30 a.m. mountain time, drove 450 miles to Wichita Greyhound Terminal, arriving at 12:30 p.m. Central Time then drove home, change out of my uniform, loaded my truck/wife and drove 250 miles to Garden City, KS when getting here @ 8:45 p.m. I have never stayed at an AmericInn, but didn't have a choice since everything was booked. We were shocked when walked into the lobby. This place was by far nicer then anything I have stayed in. When we woke up this morning we had the best breakfast I have ever had in my 30 plus years of being in a motrl/hotel. Yes the price was up there, however what's not these days? We will be staying here from now on. We don't come out here often but when we do we have a "New Home."

Room Tip: These rooms are quiet, as they are insulated. Very nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to come to Trip Advisor and let others know you had a wonderful experience! We appreciate all of our guests and we want everyone to enjoy staying with us at the AmericInn of Garden City, KS. We are a little secret in southwest Kansas. With our ski lodge look it always surprises people when entering our hotel. We are a comfortable and warm place to stay with outstanding amenities just like a large hotel, but on a smaller scale and with warm hospitality. Thank you for staying and we look forward to having return as our guest. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Della Brandenburger, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
12
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is a good value, very clean. The check in was easy. Staff for nice. Our room was clean, quite and contained a refrigerator and microwave. We went to the pool later and it was very clean. It has easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Janimal 1,

Thank you for choosing the Garden City, KS AmericInn for your stay. I am so glad you had a great experience and we do work hard to make sure all rooms are very clean as well as our common areas. It saves money eating at the hotel and having a hot breakfast to enjoy or to take back to your room. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit in town. Thank you for taking the time to assure others we are a great place to stay and we know all about great hospitality!

Sincerely,
Della Brandenburger, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A definite first-choice living destination when in Garden City. It has 100 percent consistency in kindness, cleanliness, comfort and going above and beyond in caring for the guests. Hope you get a room, but not at my expense. Give them a chance and you'll keep going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
MarkJ,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments! We appreciate our guests and we want to give the best hospitality experience when visiting our hotel in Garden City. Our houskeeping staff are proud of the hotel and it shows in their work as is the rest of the staff. thank you for being a loyal guest and we will continue to make sure you have a room and always give upgrades to our regular guests when we can. See you next time you come to visit and thanks again for everything!
Sincerely,
Della Brandenburger, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We liked this hotel, and will stay here the next time we drive thru Garden City. Nice to have Applebees next door, do not have to drive for dinner. Modern and clean, easy to get to from road.We looked for more Americinn hotels during our vacation, because we were really happy with this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear J & D,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Garden City.
We appreciate each of our guests and try to go above and beyond to satisfy their every need.
Surveys are our way of knowing our staff is doing a good job.
Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Ruth,
Assist Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After working on the road all week and headed towards home, this hotel was a ray of light at the end of the day. Excellent service, great rooms, and hospitality. Staff gave recommendations of places to eat and told of special offers at local restaurants for guests of the hotel. The Applebees next door fit the bill. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear F4ePilot,

We are so happy you had a great experience! Thank you so much for choosing our AmericInn for your stay! We appreciate our guests and we want to give each and everyone a great night stay and help with places to eat and things to do while in Garden City.
Thank you for taking the time to let others know we are here in Garden City and we are a great place to stay and have great "hospitality"!

Sincerely,
Della Brandenburger, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First off I have to say that Ann at the front desk was amazing. She was so helpful. The minute I walked in the front door I was amazed at the style, cleanliness and the wonderful attitude of the staff. I stayed in a very clean room with a very comfortable bed. Shower had amazing water pressure which for me is a must. Hotel was very clean and clean smelling. I didn't have time for breakfast so I can't comment on that. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel to everyone. for my truck driving friends they have limited truck parking behind the building. But Ann was nice and gave me a room where I could keep an eye on my truck.

Room Tip: Any room would be great here. They do have a pool at one end so I would assume that rooms at the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear DebraM,

First of all we are so glad you chose the AmericInn of Garden City, KS! We appreciate each and every guest. I will make sure the front desk receptionist knows your wonderful compliments. We want to make sure everyone has a great experience from the time they arrive to the time they leave us and cleanliness is part of the experience along with our wonderful "hospitality". Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Della Brandenburger, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

So, you are fleeing Texas heat and eager to reach the fresh air of the Rocky Mountains. You need a layover in Kansas. The AmericInn found in Garden City will take care of that need. You will find clean rooms and a decent breakfast. Easy access from Hwy 83, and the motel is near restaurants and stores . . . but let's keep expectations in line. There's not THAT much to fire you up about the AmericInn. Would I return? Yes. Would I create a new Pinterest page about this motel? No.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Mr. TravelTalker,

Thank you for choosing the AmericInn while traveling through our community and for letting others know about us on Trip Advisor. We are very easy to get to right off the highway and have a great restaurant next door so no need to drive any further. We have everything a large hotel has just a little smaller. We do have clean rooms and are proud of our hotel. Our lodge look with tall ceilings makes you almost feel like your in Colorado ski area. We are glad you will return and look forward to it!
Della Brandenburger, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City

Address: 3020 East Kansas Ave, Garden City, KS 67846
Location: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, AmericInn Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Garden City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.