We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stroud's Restaurant & Bar - South

Stroud's Restaurant & Bar - South
4200 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Fairway, KS 66205-2506
+1 913-262-8500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Fairway
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Valrico, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been eating at the different Strouds locations for about 30 years. I moved out of KC 15 years ago, but we always have to go there when we visit. My son and husband love the chicken; my daughter and I, the chicken fried steak. Mashed potatoes and gravy are perfect, as are the cinnamon rolls. Service is typically good, although a wait for a table is not unusual. Not as nice of an atmosphere as the Strouds up north, but the food is just as good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    10
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Location has changed, but not the great quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have had occasion to be in the Fairway, Kansas area during lunch, and visited the Stroud's Chicken location in Fairway. It does not have the old building with tilted floors like they had a 75th & Troost in Kansas City for many decades, but the food is still family style, and fantastic. Their real mashed potatoes, and cream gravy is still the same. The green beans cooked with bacon is great, (I don't like green beans, but I love these). We had a luncheon special of chicken fried chicken. It seems to be an entire large chicken breast covered with the same batter as Stroud's pan fried chicken. The portion size usually requires a carry out box. The only problem is getting a seat during lunch because of popularity. If you are near Stroud's be sure to try it, and I guarantee you will be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just like I remembered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in Kansas City visiting family and I wanted to take him to a restaurant that I grew up with. "Back in the day" Stroud's was located by an underpass, with waitresses who were (then) old enough to be my grandmother. Waiting for pan-fried chicken when I was a kid seemed like an eternity. And my mom loves chicken livers and gizzards -- something not readily available even then.
Enough nostalgia. Stroud's is still as good as I remember. And my husband(a native Californian) is now a convert. The food is family style -- and you'd better have a big family. The servings are generous. The wait staff is younger -- or am I older???-- but very friendly and attentive.
Just wish we had tried it earlier in our trip. If so, we'd have gone a second time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
869 reviews 869 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 381 cities Reviews in 381 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Good chicken, great sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We didn't have to wait long. The chicken was done well with nice seasonings. Our favorite part were some of the sides like the green beans. Our kids loved it too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stroud's is known throughout Kansas City for their fried chicken, so we decided to give it a try when I went to visit family. We were certainly not disappointed. I had been craving fried chicken for quite a while was really looking forward to trying theirs. We were certainly not disappointed! The fried chicken is perfectly seasoned and cooked and is served family style with mashed potatoes, green beans and cinnamon rolls. My only complaints was that the green beans had pork in them, and the cinnamon rolls could have used more cinnamon. The chicken was excellent and well worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stroud's Restaurant & Bar - South also viewed

 

Been to Stroud's Restaurant & Bar - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stroud's Restaurant & Bar - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.