We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like smoke.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality House

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hospitality House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hospitality House
3021 West US Highway 50, Emporia, KS 66801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Emporia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smells like smoke.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Person at the front desk had great difficulty with even checking me in. They assault you with the threat of a $200 fine and then stick you in a room that smells like an ashtray. No offer to even switch rooms. Went to find the manager the next morning to let them know, and found him outside smoking! Zero customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. If there is anything we can do please call us and we will be gald to help you.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
31
17
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iL.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was an a late night stop, in need of quiet and rest. We could not tell late at night how the hotel looked, other than we wanted no steps to carry our bags, as we had already traveled over 700 miles. I did look up the reviews prior to stopping on tripadvisor and found them helpful. The young man who checked us in was very helpful, and pleasant, informed us about our complimentary breakfast they offered in the connecting restaurant. Our room was very clean, roomy, with plenty of towels, pillows. It was a very hot evening as our stay was on the 27th of August. The air conditioner had a work out that night. The shower had great pressure, and the shower head was tall enough and worked great! The morning breakfast was delicious, and the staff overall was great! Thanks for a great stay and the price was fantastic, I would recommend, and we will be staying there again, for any future travel. Keep up the "GREAT" Job!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, Assistant GM at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We truly appreciate your time spent in presenting us with your insights. We constantly strive to provide comfortable, clean rooms to our guests. Our staff members want to give you, our guest, a friendly, "home-away-from-home" experience. Having a quiet atmosphere is key to a relaxing stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last night instead of camping because we read there may be thunder storms. We have stayed at some pretty horrid hotels on this trip and were really hoping this would be a good one.
It was even better than we hoped. I give this hotel five stars for sure. Everyone was helpful and nice. The beds were so comfortable! I felt like I was sleeping on tempra-pedic. The bathroom was large, clean, and well organized.
The best part of the hotel was the breakfast! There is a restaurant connected to the hotel and anything on the breakfast menu is complimentary to hotel guests. We had some delicious bacon, eggs, French toast, coffee, etc.
I'd recommend this hotel. :)


"Lord, deliver me. Deliver me to the next Best Western."

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Hope we have the pleasure of serving you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We made an unscheduled and unplanned stop at the Best Western Emporia, Kansas, and were impressed by our stay. A friendly, smiling desk clerk Alex checked us in. The motel was nothing out of the ordinary but was clean, two queen beds firm and comfortable, plenty of pillows and a clean bathroom with plenty of towels. Our room was small but had all the amenities expected. The indoor pool was beautiful. A full complimentary breakfast was provided at the connected Nona’s Restaurant and our meal was “outstanding.” Early morning trains caused a little problem but when the A/C cycled on, most noise was muffled. Given the same circumstances, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We truly appreciate your time spent in presenting us with your insights. We constantly strive to provide comfortable, clean rooms to our guests. Our staff members want to give you, our guest, a friendly, "home-away-from-home" experience. We look forward to having you as our guest again at Best Western Emporia. We will do everything we can to make your future stays with us as pleasant as your recent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We are traveling from WI to AZ with our dog and this was a convenient property to stay. It is a drive up and park in front of your room layout and much more convenient to take the dog out to do his business vs halls, stairs, etc at other motels. We asked for a room away from other guests (in case noise would cause our dog to bark) and we were accommodated. The room was spic n span clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast at the onsite restaurant was a great start to our long day on the road ahead of us. In my opinion a good value, conveniently located off I35 in a safe neighborhood. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it is our goal to make every guest 100% satisfied with our service and it's always nice to hear of your experience hear at our hotel. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great hotel, great staff and the restaurant breakfast is great. Unfortunately, the staff placed local kids who rented a room next to other paying guests. The locals just needed a meeting place to party, and they did until the early hours of the morning. Move them next time to a far end of the hotel away from guests traveling and needing sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We value the feedback of each of our guests. Our goals are to provide great service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have had a conference that has taken place in this hotel for many, many years. Tried to rebook since last December, and have finally given up and chosen another hotel that wants our business. Our dates are actually flexible, so had the hotel sold our normal dates out from under us, we coud have selected another date. We can not even get a return phone call to let us know that they have given away our dates (found that out from a third party, but who knows - the hotel will not tell us anything). The restaurant owner/catering manager is unreachable. If you call the front desk you are transfered to her voice mail which is full so you can't leave a message. If you call back and ask for the hotel manager, you get his voice mail and those go unreturned. I sent a fax. No response. There are no company emails unless a change has recently been made. We are sad and frustrated that many years of faithfully staying at this hotel have turned into this. By the way, the hotel was under different management when we were last there, so I don't belive this is something we caused.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEMPKS, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I would like to Thank You for your honest review. I am very sorry with your experience. We respect you as a guest and hope to see you again at the BEST WESTERN. If any questions or concerns please feel free to email us at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hospitality House

Address: 3021 West US Highway 50, Emporia, KS 66801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emporia
Emporia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hospitality House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.