We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic nights stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dodge City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thunderbird Motel
2300 wyatt earp street, Dodge City, KS   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Dodge City
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic nights stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a cheap motel with good beds! quiet and the owner is very helpful. no frills except ice. we could've stayed a block away for double the price and gotten a lot of frills! I do think it's cheaper to book online then to drive up without reservations!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for a week on business. Very good weekly rate and unlike most weekly rate stays, they service your room daily. Very friendly and helpful "on site owners". They even gave me a bag of homemade beef jerky on checkin. It's an older motel but the owners take pride in the place. Very clean and comfortable beds. Nothing fancy but nice and quiet. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Very satisfied.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I've started to expect a lot from TripAdvisor finds (in terms of walking in and going "oh, this is nice!") and unfortunately, this one fell a bit short of the mark. It was nice enough, and the price was great -- clean, big room but very old-fashioned looking and needing some sprucing up. My first impression was that the room was very dingy -- not enough lamps, and those that were there were oddly placed with the lightbulbs that take a while to get bright. At first the TV remote would not work but after some pushing on the back, it started to. The bathroom has no tub, just a shower and a fairly small one at that and the cold water tap is somewhat stiff to turn and finicky. If you're expecting shower amenities or other room amenities, this is not the place for you -- no coffee in room, or shampoo or conditioner. The bed was comfy enough but my husband was leery of the comforter -- I think it was clean but its dark color and faded state didn't do it any favors. The owners seem nice and with a little paint job and some renovating the place would be great, especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Typical older roadside motel but in good condition and a deal for $49. Clean, comfortable bed, friendly owner (who will talk your head off if you let her!). Beware of the shower. Its a little tricky to get it to work. Never saw one like it, but it works fine if you ask the owner how.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great motel with a great couple that has owned it for a long time.

When we arrived without a reservation we got one of the last two rooms. So I do suggest booking ahead by calling them - the have been at 90% full for the past few years.

This is an L shaped one floor motel where you can park your car right in front of your room. I want to stress that this a mo-tel not a ho-tel, and they do it right.

Beds: older but springy and comfy. pillows are firm but springy as well. Our room has soft pasley printed sheets that look in good shape.

Bathroom: totally has the 1950's enameled cast iron tub and is nice and white! Toilet and sink were spotless as well.

The room comes with a mini fridge and microwave.

I wanted to address the one star rating's complaint: bugs are a factor of life and I do appreciate an owner keeping them out of the rooms. Maybe the feeling of being "scolded" weighed on the reviewer? But from my experience with the owner, I doubt it was meant with malace unlike the review of a zero rating the reviewer wanted to leave.

This motel is what it is, a good motel not the ritz. But it is loved by it's owners and they are great at keeping it up.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travel 3 nights per week yearly and this was, to date, the worst of the year for me. For starters, a wet towel was left behind from the previous night. The carpet did not appeal to me to take off my socks. Strands of hair left in and around the sink. And, to top it off, at least 30 flies in the room. For the most part, Dodge City is a way OVER priced town to stay in and if you do find a deal, don't expect much....Drive to Garden City or stay in Pratt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Kansas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our room was HUGE!! It was also very clean and the bed was comfy. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom. The decor is what I would call "eclectic retro". If you are expecting the Plaza Hotel you will be disappointed. But if you want a very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable motel room, you will be happy! If we ever get back to Dodge City, we will stay there again!! I even recommended this motel to friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 2300 wyatt earp street, Dodge City, KS
Location: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Dodge City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list