We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was very happy with the Thunderbird Motel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dodge City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thunderbird Motel
2300 wyatt earp street, Dodge City, KS   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Dodge City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I was very happy with the Thunderbird Motel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and was very happy with our visit. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, and there was plenty of hot water. The couple running the motel was pleasant and friendly. If I am in the area again I would definitely plan to stay at the Thunderbird.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

When we first saw this little independent motel, we had our doubts about staying here. But the room looked clean and we could park the car right outside the door, and they had wifi and the price was right, so we gave it a try. Surprisingly, I had the best night's sleep here that I had in the past 3 weeks of traveling! The bed felt just right, the room was quiet (ask for one in the back if traffic noise is an issue for you), and the wifi worked perfectly. There was no coffee pot in the room and they don't serve breakfast, but we knew that when we paid for the room. Our room had a queen bed and a double - some rooms have only doubles. The Laotian lady at the front desk was delightful to chat with and she referred us to an excellent restaurant for dinner. We would definitely stay here again next time we're in Dodge City.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are much quieter than those near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is an old motel. The owners were very nice and easy to talk to. We stayed for 4 days and they were very good to address any problems we had. I do have one warning to give. If you go to Dodge City in the summer you will have to deal with the flies(in the motel, resturants, bathrooms, outside, they are everywhere) due to the meat packing plant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Thunderbird and found the price quite decent - $48 including taxes is a great rate. We stayed in room 211 and got a good nights sleep. The AC worked great and the internet too. We would recommend this little gem. We think a clean room and good bed is all we need, but the fridge and mircrowave were much appreciated. All in all a good little place and make sure you take advantage of the dinner and show at the Boot Hill Museum. It is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

Got a room with two double beds. Decent size, retro feel. The beds were horrible. One was extremely "broken in" and sagging and the other was board stiff and you could feel the springs digging into your back. The wireless never worked. We could connect (had to call and request password from office) but the signal was so weak that we couldn't get on the Internet. The entire room smelled bad, and we never could place why. We all slept poorly on the worst beds of our trip (this was our 8th hotel by this point) and if I had it over again I'd have paid more just to actually get some sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 via mobile

Large room with refrigerator and microwave. Good sized screen on tv. Shower no tub.. $45 is a steal. Right on the highway but the air conditioning and refrigerator made more than enough white noise. A little pilling on the sheets but at this price how can you complain?

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I was very happy to see while staying the owners were in the process of restoring the original sign. The couple who owned it were beyond nice and accomodating. I enjoy midcentury design and this place had the original sink and our room had a little sofa that was built in that was made from bent plywood. Yes the rooms are older but they were very clean. The prices can't be beat in Dodge City plus very close to boot hill.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 2300 wyatt earp street, Dodge City, KS
Location: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Dodge City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list