We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built without much thought.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Colby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Colby to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Colby
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   645 W. Willow, Colby, KS 67701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Curtice, Ohio
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Built without much thought.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Staff was wonderful, rooms were clean and comfortable, pool area was clean, and breakfast was decent as expected. However, how is it a good idea to have narrow swinging doors on the front entrance of a hotel where the luggage cart can barely fit through and there is no way to hold the door open? It was like driving in a demolition derby just to get the bags into the hotel. Then came the elevator. I believe in taking the stairs in a two story hotel but an elevator is needed to transport luggage. There is ONE elevator in the building that can barely hold the rickety luggage cart and two people. It is unacceptable to have to wait ten minutes to get bags downstairs to check out on a cart because there is only one elevator and it doesn't have room for the cart and passengers. Stop being cheap on the construction.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor so you only have to fight with the front doors and not the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear PfeiffersOnTheGo-
Thank you for your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express, Colby, KS! We are delighted that you found our staff to be wonderful, and our rooms to be clean and comfortable! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Although our property has been recently remodeled, our hotel was actually built 15 years ago under different ownership. Although automatic doors were not installed when the property was built, we do have handicap push buttons at both doors that allow the doors to stay open for a short period of time which allows luggage carts to be pushed through a little easier. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you!

Penny, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
26
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express could use a facelift. I do think the staff including housekeeping is doing as well as they can considering what they have to work with. The pool is gross. I would not step foot in it. The breakfast is adequate, good coffee. It is pet friendly and that is the only reason we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Marleygirl2014-
I apologize that you think our property needs a facelift. We actually just went through a recent remodel and our rooms are totally up to date and modern, as well as our public areas, so I hope you have our property confused with another one, as we have had many, many compliments about our remodel! We hope you will come back and stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Penny, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Motel is in a good location just off the interstate. Check-in could have been better. One clerk was reading a magazine and the other one who waited on me was very snooty. Asked me if I wanted 300 points. For what? Apparently they give you a choice of 300 extra points or accepting a complimentary back containing a bottle of water and trail mix for being a gold member. The clerk got agitated when I asked about the points and didn't care to explain what it was she was offering. Room was very nice and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The AC barely worked but I didn't report that because of the treatment I received on check-in. There was also a lot of parking lot noise. One good point was this property has an outstanding breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear TravisOklahoma-
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience. I do apologize that you did not have a better experience during your check in! I have shared your review with my front desk and am confident that this will not happen again. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy our breakfast, and I hope that you will come back and stay with us again, as we do put a very high priority on customer service, and your check in experience is not what guests normally experience and is not acceptable!

Thank you,

Penny, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After a long drive, this place was refreshing. The staff was great and inviting. The rooms were just awesome. The beds were great and I slept very well. They even give you 2 soft pillows and 2 firm pillows. The pillowcases are stitched with the description of each. That was a nice detail. I didn't eat breakfast there...late sleeper...but my Son did and he said it was "just fine!". The bathrooms were very large and up to date. The staff provided an abundance of toilet paper, towels and complimentary soaps, shampoos and lotions. I was very relaxed here and will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We got in late, the front desk person was very nice. Hotel looked nice inside and out. Didn't hear a lot of noise, although it's near the interstate didn't hear any road noise. The room was nice, breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Would definately stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Facility up to Holiday Inn Express standards

TV and beds were great maybe we were just tired

Breakfast a little better than norm as sugar free products were provided an omelets were nice

I really like the pancake machine

All in all fair value for the price

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We ended up at this hotel by default, after we were told upon our arrival at our usual Goodland Holiday Inn, that they were full. We'd stayed there a few times without ever making reservations, but this time it was Spring Break and, apparently, our luck ran out. So the desk clerk told us that the Holiday Inn in Colby still had some rooms and called ahead to make a reservation for us.

What a wonderful place! Exceptionally clean hotel with a spotless and extremely comfortable room. The linens were so white and the bed made up so tidy that we bet we could bounce a quarter off it! The loveseat and ottoman in the sitting area were a perfect place to eat pizza, watch the NCAA Tournament and veg out after a long drive.

So pleased to have found this fantastic place and will probably make it our halfway-home stop after our next Colorado visit, too! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear TajnMe:
Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be very happy to have you back the next time you travel through Kansas! See you next time!

Penny, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colby

Address: 645 W. Willow, Colby, KS 67701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colby
#3 Business Hotel in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Colby Kansas. Whether your travels bring you to Colby on business, a family visit, or you're just passing through, we invite you to enjoy our finest Midwestern hospitality. Business travelers will appreciate free high speed internet access in all guest rooms and our professional meeting services. Families will find our indoor pool a great place to relax and the fitness facility allows travelers to maintain their fitness routine even when away from home. Smart travelers love our new Express Start Breakfast which features Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee and what may be the world's best cinnamon roll. Add to that a great selection of juices, cereals, fruits, yogurt and even hard boiled eggs and you'll be ready to start your day! Visit Colby, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colby Hotel Colby
Holiday Inn Colby
Colby Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Colby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.