We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussies on a US road trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Colby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Colby to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Colby
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   645 W. Willow, Colby, KS 67701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Colby
south australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Aussies on a US road trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hi-Express in Colby is a great place to stay. Rooms are very clean and the usual Hi-Ex standard. Breakfast Ok. The only downside to staying just off the interstate is that there are no bars or resturaunts that you can easily walk to. We did walk to one but quite a hike. Otherwise very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
26
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It had been 2 years since we stayed at this hotel, so I was excited when I opened the door to a beautifully redecorated room. It was clean and comfortable. The TV screen was great quality. Lots of desktop space. Comfortable reading chair with light. Something else that was AWESOME was the individual bending small but powerful light that was on each side of the headboard. I have never seen anything like these in any hotel room!! GREAT JOB!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

After nearly five hours on I-70, and the clock approaching 11:30, I was tired and weary. Three minutes after exiting the interstate, I opened the door to a clean, comfortable guest room. The check-in was remarkably efficient. The front desk associate had the key card ready, and with one swipe of the credit card, I was on my way. If only every check-in was this efficient.

The room appeared to be recently renovated. After having stayed at several mundane Holiday Inns, I was pleasantly startled upon entering the room. I immediately felt relaxed, as the soft lighting and cool brown walls produced a soothing vibe. There is abundant space for work and relaxation. Regarding the former, the workspace was more than sufficient, and the wireless internet connection was swift. The oversized flat-screen television included a multitude of channels, more than the vast majority of hotels.

The complimentary breakfast reminded me of two things – 1) do not be fooled by the calming feel of the rooms – this is still a Holiday Inn, and 2) you get what you pay for. When I arrived around 7:30 the spread had been reduced to a handful of items. In this case, there were a few pastries and cereal – continental fare. As a result, I opted to stop at the nearby McDonald’s before heading westbound.

Finally, the hotel welcomes pets for a very reasonable $25 fee. The surrounding area is a sea of concrete, so it is not the most pet-friendly.

If you’re looking for a restful evening, this is a sound choice. But save a few dollars for breakfast.

Pros: Soothing vibe in recently renovated guest rooms, abundant space for work and relaxation

Cons: Save a few dollars for breakfast - only a handful of options by 7:30

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The newly renovated rooms are a pleasure to visit. Calm colors and comfort greeted us in our late night or should I say early morning - 2 am check in.

The normal breakfast buffet greeted us in the morning which was helpful in getting us ready to continue our trip.

Room Tip: Check to see if all the renovations are done if you are needing the pool or other services. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way back from Denver. The hotel is undergoing renovation, so the first floor rooms are shut off. However, the room we had was beautiful. The decor has been updated and the bed was very nice. We didn't use any of the facilities, but this is not a bad place to spend the night while you are on the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

When driving across country, I much prefer simple, comfortable, "no overhead" motels. I am greatly impressed with the several remodeled Holiday Inn Expresses I have visited over the past year. The unit in Colby seems to be in the midst of its renovation. Our room was a "new" one, and it was really very nice. Up to date, chic decor, big TV, convenient features.

This is not an elegant hotel, but it is super for a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I had stayed here several times before so I looked forward to the stop after a long days drive.
It was Hot and Late and I just wanted to eat and sleep.
I checked in and went to my room and was stunned at how disgusting it was,even on the surface!
The room smelled and there was water running in the bathroom that would not stop. The air barely worked and the place just felt dirty.
I went downstairs and asked for another room and was told they were all taken so I said thanks for the try but I will be staying somewhere else,I will not pay $120.00 for this room.
I was told that I would be paying whether I stayed or not and after arguing about it with the clerk I just left and went to the new Sleep Inn next door promising to settle it with my credit card company if I had to.
Who do they think they are?

Room Tip: Go Next Door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your experience. I do apologize that your August stay was not up to standard. I am pleased to tell you that since then our 3rd floor has been completely remodeled and we are currently remodeling the remaining hotel. If you return to Colby, please come and check out our newly remodeled rooms......we are confident that you will pleased!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colby

Address: 645 W. Willow, Colby, KS 67701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Colby
#3 Family Hotel in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Colby Kansas. Whether your travels bring you to Colby on business, a family visit, or you're just passing through, we invite you to enjoy our finest Midwestern hospitality. Business travelers will appreciate free high speed internet access in all guest rooms and our professional meeting services. Families will find our indoor pool a great place to relax and the fitness facility allows travelers to maintain their fitness routine even when away from home. Smart travelers love our new Express Start Breakfast which features Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee and what may be the world's best cinnamon roll. Add to that a great selection of juices, cereals, fruits, yogurt and even hard boiled eggs and you'll be ready to start your day! Visit Colby, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colby Hotel Colby
Holiday Inn Colby
Colby Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Colby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.