We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off at a chain” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Limits Bar & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
City Limits Bar & Grill
2227 South Range Avenue, Colby, KS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Colby
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Salina, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Better off at a chain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We wanted a sports bar to watch basketball while eating. Was really excited because the salad bar was great but things went downhill from there. The meal was overpriced and under-flavored. Kept adding salt trying to improve the taste but it didn't work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Guest Relations Manager at City Limits Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to our restaurant. We're glad you enjoyed our fresh salad bar and are disappointed to hear that the rest of your meal wasn't as delicious. We appreciate your feedback in helping us to achieve our goal of providing excellent food and service for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Excellent... can't understand bad reviews....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stopped off here with some friends on the long drive from Denver to Salina. We just happened upon the City Limits bar/grill and were very pleasantly surprised. The Boulevard draft beer made the 15 minute wait for a table most enjoyable. My marbled steak arrived perfectly cooked medium rare with excellent fries and the salad bar was well stocked with fresh produce. And then three very attractive friends happened to break their journey at the same place at the same time... so a fun, magical evening was had by all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Guest Relations Manager at City Limits Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We're glad to hear that you had a great evening at our restaurant, and thank you for taking time to share your comments with others. We invite you to join us again anytime you're in Colby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rude service and mediocre food ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff acted as if it was the last place they wanted to be. The food was bland and over cooked, no where near worth what we paid. They were out of most varieties of soft drinks and the salad bar had few choices. To sum it up, my husband's birthday dinner would have been much more pleasant had we gone to qdoba's at the petro station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha B, Guest Relations Manager at City Limits Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We're sorry to hear that your husband's birthday dinner wasn't a great experience . We take your comments very seriously and appreciate your taking time to let us know about the problems you encountered. Our goal is always to provide outstanding food and service to all our guests and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan, kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Manager, Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Met with friends, I had one of the best steaks I've ever had!! And I eat out a lot!! My friends meals were great also!!! The salad bar was good, lots of choices. I understand that there is a new manager at the resturant, everyone was very friendly, lots of smiles, service was excellent. This place was fantastic!!! I plan on going back my next time I'm out that way.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre food for way too much money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I'll learn to read trip advisor reviews before I go to a restaurant. The front desk at our hotel advised us to go to City Limits. We were very disappointed. The food was typical bar food and not very good with an outrageous price. $28 for potato skins and a soup and salad bar is a bit over the top. If this is the best Colby has to offer, I'd go down the highway.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Limits Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to City Limits Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Limits Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.