We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pioneers of the Outdoor Wildlife film” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin and Osa Johnson Safari Museum

Martin and Osa Johnson Safari Museum
111 North Lincoln Avenue, Chanute, KS 66720-1819
620-431-2730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Chanute
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Bonner Springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pioneers of the Outdoor Wildlife film”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Martin and Osa Johnson were the first to go to foreign places to film with sound the wildlife. I remember as a child reading her book "I Married Adventure". The museum is not large, but filled with interesting items and also stuffed animals. Don't skip the longer documentary film about their lives.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Interesting place to visit. The staff was helpful. The adjacent city library was also interesting. more characters are added that are meaningless and add fluff.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A jewel, GO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This museum is devoted to the special work of two special people. The museum is run by 3 special people who are knowledgable and enthusiastic and caring. I made a special grip from Boston to see this museum, and I was not disappointed. There are marvelous displays that have been artfully hung, a library for research, and a gift shop most imaginative. Having lived in Kenya and having fallen in love with the NFD, I knew about the Johnsons. You too will gain great insight into their work. Chanute itself is a charming town, and for self-satisfied Coasters a real Middle West revelation. So here's what you do: use Kansas City as a destination for 2-3 days and then drive down to Chanute overnight, maybe even more of eastern Kansas. Trust me, you'll haves a great time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
former NYr
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“History, Action, Adventure, & great Literature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I read the book "Safari" by Martin and Osa Johnson years ago. Somehow I stumbled upon and then into their museum, two hours south of Kansa City. It was well worth the trip. Pack a picnic lunch and go experience how this adventurous couple - Martin and Osa - experienced life. They'd pick an exotic place on the map and visit for a while. When they returned they'd write books and articles about their adventures as well as release movies, documenting their exploits. What a lifestyle!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I've traveled to over 20 countries, in South America, Europe and Africa. I love the gift shop, which is free to anyone. If you are traveling through on a road trip, and have an hour to kill, this is the place to go! There are several good spots to get a bite to eat afterwards, too. I like this museum because of the history they tell, the artifacts they have on display, and the spirit of adventure that is inspired. I'd recommend this museum for all ages, as our 3yr old daughter enjoyed the exhibits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martin and Osa Johnson Safari Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin and Osa Johnson Safari Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.