We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
North Street, Winterborne Kingston DT11 9AZ, England
01929 471332
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A warm welcome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found this pub after having to abandon a stop for dinner at the Quiet Woman (where they would not let children in) and were made to feel so welcome !
They were having a carvery cand the food was both delicious and good value. The people were really friendly and we shall be back for more of that roast beef !
I would recommend this for all the family. There is a nice little garden at the rear too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wareham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“So good we visited again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took a friend here for a special birthday and we had a lovely evening. Unfortunately it was not a carvery evening, but that did not stop us having another lovely meal and prices are reasonable as well. I have visited here on a lunch time on a Thursday and had the carvery. This visit was between my post last year and this one. The food if it is either a carvery or from the menu is cooked very well and the service I have found has always been good. Thank you The Greyhound for such good food and service. We will visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meal at the Greyhound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We came across this pub on the off-chance on Sunday 10 June, it is brilliant, food exceptionally good and the most friendly staff we have ever met. Very cosy atmospher. Will certainly go there again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Support this pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I'm torn whether to keep it a secret or shout about it, to make sure it gets the support it deserves! Real ales, real fire and wonderful - and changing - menues. Carvery nights, Oriental nights, Grill nights or just the normal menu - wonderful food AND friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Meal at the Greyhound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We have visited the Greyhound for various meals and always found it to be a good place to go. On certain nights they offer a carvery, which are very popular, but the last time we visited which was on a Thursday night the carvery was not available. This didn't make a difference as our meal from the menu was very good and it was not over priced. They also hold themed nights like grill nights, pie nights etc, which I believe are on Wednesdays, but please check when you phone, I have not been to one of these but would love to go when I have the time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Milborne Saint Andrew, Dorset
Winterborne Zelston, Blandford Forum
 
Blandford Forum, Dorset
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.