We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trek of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost City

Lost City
El Mamey, Colombia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$550*
and up
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trek of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a life-changingly amazing trek! I found it to be very challenging (I am not particularly fit and had done little trekking prior to this) but VERY rewarding. The trek is incredible - the indescribable views, hundreds of butterflies which encircle you and endless plunges into natural pools. I cannot describe the feeling and emotions as we reached the top of the lost city itself - there was not one dry eye in the group. The pictures simply do not do the magic and beauty of the place justice. We were also lucky to be the only 5 visitors in that area of the city at the time.

I did the trek with Expotur in July and thought they were excellent. Our guide was part of the original team who worked to restore the site and was very knowledgeable (though only in Spanish!). The food was excellent (and plentiful) and our guide and support team were very helpful without being asked (providing medication to deal with stomach issues and helping one of the group who was struggling by carrying her bag) and genuinely cared about our comfort and enjoyment of the trek. Accommodation is basic (hammocks/tents) but i was surprised to find there are showers (one of which I eventually realised I was sharing with a scorpion eek). Essentials: Deet (!!), playing cards (there is a lot of down time in the afternoons/evenings), good shoes, a dry bag (for inside your bag), alka-seltzer/immodium, rehydration salts are a bonus as you will sweat a LOT! Don't take too much as you will have to carry it, but be aware that once wet nothing will dry so lots of socks were a life saver!

Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    23
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome exercise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Definitely worth the time and money. Do it in 4 days. Lots of food provided by company. Did it with Expotour and they were great... Seemed to have smaller group sizes as well which is key. Good luck!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This trek is really great, you sweat a lot, mosquitoes will bite you, you'll get wet by the rain but you will love it!!! So worth it!
Me and my friends had heard before that the trek is all about the road not so much ruins and I would agree, the scenery along the trek is varied, spectacular, you meet some indigenous Kogi, swim in waterfalls, open landscapes, jungle... The Ciudad Perdida itself is not big but the ruins surprised me in the end, but it is a good tip to think of "the road, the road, the road" and not so much the ruins... :)

Other tips; put your stuff in a dry-sack, can be bought in sport and outdoor stors, it will rain and the humidity is high so to protect your clothes can be worth it, the same goes for the bag you will carry. Pack lightly because some parts are alot walking uphill.

I brought with me some nuts and snacks and it was moeny well spent, even though the cook will prepare all meals and they bring some snacks like fruit and biscuits along the trek it's nice to have some own as well so that you can get some energy when YOU need it.

Just in case, bring some painkillers, it is not uncommon to get a cold from the ventilators and aircons in the caribbean... The tour guide carries waterpurification drops (at least our at Magic Tours) There are a few posts during the trek where you can buy drinks like Gatorade and candy, bring some money (a Gatorade was 5000COP).

Use clothes that dry fast, trek pants or dri-fit clothes, you can do without but it's nice to put on dry clothes. During the night not much will dry since the humidity is high.

If you can choose, walk in low-season, we did and it doesn't get so crowded on the tracks, high season the groups are bigger and part more often making it most likely more crowded...

Do it! Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ciudad Perdida (The Lost City)

The temperature was in the 30’s, the humidity was in the 90’s and the mosquitoes were in the thousands! We started our five day hike excited and a little nervous about what lay ahead. Our group of seven and our guide were less than an hour into the trek and there wasn’t a dry patch on any of our clothes. The heat and humidity combined with the relentless uneven uphill trek was tough but a ‘fruit stop’ brought its own problems, the mosquitoes! They were out for blood and as the days went on the bite count between us must have been in the hundreds. But our group were awesome and each bump in the road gave us something more to chat and laugh about.
Day three brought new problems as Cams ‘stomach of steel’ decided to crack. It’s never fun being sick and even less in the middle of a jungle with kilometres of trek to cover, but without a single complaint (and a few tablets) he soldiered on. At one point it looked like the corpse of Cameron Marchant coming over the hill but we opted not to tell him until the colour came back in his cheeks and he survived to tell the tale.
The morning of day four we were up before the sun and after a river crossing and an hour’s hike we had reached the base of the lost city. Only 1280 uneven, moss covered, steep steps lay between us and the ruins, the final hurdle was a real test. But as the 8 of us sat above the impressive ancient city in the middle of the jungle, we forgot all about our itchy legs and soggy clothes, our sick stomachs and sore muscles and enjoyed our reward. It was perfect.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tips on Turcol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Turcol seems to be the oldest and best established of the trek operators to the Lost City. Theere appears to be no price differential anymore betyween teh various operators as they are tightly coordinated and all charge 600K peso for a 5 day trek per person. The run a smooth and well oiled operation (critcal in such a challenging environement) and you generally get your money's worth with Turcol. One tip to watch for is to avoid their tour guide by the name of Jorge. He is little of a guide, consistently shorcahnges you on the food he buys for thw bgroup and pockets the difference, and acts highly irresponsibly at times of adversity, such as when you run into a harsh thunderstorm en route, your shoes give up, etc. He simply vanishes.On the other hand, the cook name Diego is a god send ine every respect. Try your best to go with him. He will really look after you in every respect.
Then again think really ahrd about what you need to take with you as there are basically no supplies to get anywhere en route in terms of a torch (prefererbaly a head one) , batteries, suntan lotion, strong flea repellent (crtical) and do take with you a spare pair of shoes/sandals in case yours give in in these demanding waling conditions. And avoid Timberland shoes. They are unrelaible. Finally you should expect a outpour of rain on at least one day of teh trek, ususally more, so be well prepared for such a scenario.
Last tip: caliberate your expecattions on what you expect to see in the Lost City. The trek is demanding, and the Lost City is really spectacular and well worth the trek, but for those who have been before to other ruins such as those in Mexico, Guatemala or Peru it is initially very disappointing because there seems to be less to see and also less is known about the ancient culture in taht city.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost City also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.