We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolwedans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Save
You added Wolwedans Dunes Lodge to your Saves list
NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Wolwedans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent a couple nights at both Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, and Wolwedans Dunes Camp. They are both spectacular. The guides were all extremely knowledgeable and interested. The staff at both camps were very professional and friendly. The food was superb - we especially enjoyed the fresh salads and herbs from the desert garden!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    18
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
125
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been in paradise and we are back. The location is incredible, views are breathtaking. Service could have been more accommodating regarding private catering we got in our suite. Otherwise no remarks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family of four (two boy ages 2 and 4) stayed at Private Camp which was perfect. We didn't have to worry about disturbing other guests and our daily activities were planned around our needs. We had a chef (who cooked child-appropriate food on request), maid and guide. The guide, Felix, was the best we have experienced to date: extremely knowledgable, very friendly and fantastically patient with the children. The camp was situated in front of a waterhole set in stunning wilderness. I felt it was a safe environment for the children and we didn't come across any big bugs in the camp. Sand-dune walks with the kids highly recommended. They also came on drives for 3 hours and were fine. If you are at all worried that the 'children are too young' - don't be. We all had a trip-of-a-lifetime which will be remembered one-way-or-another buy all of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We organized our wedding with our 30 guests at Wolwedans dune lodge & private camp, and it was definitely a wonderful one even better than our expectations.

It’s an amazing wild, infinite, elegant location with an outstanding service. We would like to thanks all the team who are extremely professional and friendly at the same time. They all did their best to provide what we were looking for and even beyond.

Thanks to Theo as well, who had great ideas and is able to quickly understand what we dreamt of and turned it into reality.

All of our guests and us really had a wonderful stay at Wolwedans, there is definitiley no better place on earth to get married.

Merci à toute l’équipe de Wolwedans.

E&P

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was rhere with my wife, in Boulders Camp, 45 km away from Dunes Lodge and more exclusive.
Only 4 lodges. In the middle of nowhere. We were alone with the staff.
The most beautiful experience lived in all our african travels, and the best dinner ever had not probably for the food, however excellent, but for the locations, the stars and the landscape.
A unique experience.
Travelled in 2010

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you most sincerely for your review of Boulders, and sharing your pleasure with us. We hope that you will visit Wolwedans in the future, to experience this piece of paradise once again.

Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There are very few places such as this - which marry comfort in a pristine location with serious eco consciousness. With no grid supplied electricity, just solar panels to generate the power needed by the lodge, the little veggie garden with produce for your salad, the limited water per guest (but still more than enough) and the pipes running your shower water off to the base of an acacia tree in the red desert sand which is solely reliant on your shower water... this is taking eco consciousness to the next level, resulting in a feather light carbon footprint and a wonderful lodge in an extraordinary desert setting.

As a first visit to Namibia, our Sossusvlei experience was memorable, made ever more special by the 3 nights we spent here. In a gorgeous, pastel toned setting, the tents are spacious, well furnished and very comfortable to hang out in. The deck overlooking the dunes with the occasional Oryx wandering past is a perfect place to spend the hot afternoon reading or observing the desert - as it faces east, you're in the shade.

This is the only lodge with a pool, so if you enjoy swimming choose this one. Its a long trek to get here by road (it takes 6.5 hours from Windhoek) but once at Wolwedans you will experience peace and quiet like you have never before.

The night skies are incredible, you can view the Milky Way and many, many clusters of stars. I attach a photo that you will not believe. The southern night skies are spectacular and this reserve with its "dark sky" status allows you to observe them like nowhere else. What is missing here is an astronomer, someone to teach you more about what you're seeing.

The food was good overall. Remembering how remote we were always made us realise that having the right ingredients takes alot of planning and cooking with what you can get takes creativity - and with that the chef manages to pull off a 5 course meal every evening, which is impressive.

The service if warm and friendly, but perhaps at times a tad too slow... but then again, its the desert and who has a train to catch anyway? This place is the perfect antidote to a frenetic city lifestyle.

We would certainly return to this lodge as we had a super time and thought it to be very good value for money.

Room Tip: they are all the same, but the closer ones involve less of a walk through the soft sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Sincere thanks for your visit, and for sharing your experience with TA readers. Thank you, for recognising our efforts at making Wolwedans as eco-friendly as possible, in the middle of nowhere - it is hugely costly and challenging, but all the more rewarding when guests acknowledge the soft footprint. The team will receive your feedback, and will be pleased that they pleased their guest. Your images you posted are lovely, and illustrate you review very well. We wish you 'many happy returns' to Wolwedans and the NamibRand Nature Reserve.

Kind regards, ALison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What an amazing place. My wife and I stayed at the mountain view suite and dined at the lodge. The manager, Eric, and his team were fantastic, the service was superb, the food is good - preparing food in the desert takes some planning! Expect continental and warm breakfasts, great lunchtime salads and 5 course dinners. There is a good selection of wines and other drinks. Prices on extras are reasonable. Ask about massages, star beds, sun downers and walks. This is the desert so although there is wildlife, the great beauty is the landscape and the night sky's. Take closed walking shoes for the sand, warm evening clothes in winter, sun tan lotion and a good book. Our suite had a charger but I think lodge rooms don't- u can charge at reception though. There is cellphone reception but you won't get much on data. We flew in, which is great, but expensive, if you're not in a hurry we understand the drive is great. Staff pool their tips, guides and the masseurs get tipped individually. They can communicate in a variety of languages so they are very easy to engage, including by phone and email, and incredibly helpful. Our view- if you're going to Namibia don't miss this place, it is fantastic for a short break

Room Tip: Ask if the mountain view suite is available- you might pay a bit more but is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officemd, office md at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest
We are most grateful for your 5-star review, and detailed feedback. Readers will be in no doubt re extras they need to bring along, and what to expect. We're pleased that you were satisfied with Wolwedans, our team, and the NamibRand Nature Reserve - wishing you many happy returns to our remote wonder.
Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolwedans nestles into the dunes and is set against a backdrop of extraordinary natural beauty. Located in the heart of NamibRand Nature Reserve, our portfolio of camps provides the perfect base from which to explore vast stretches of awe-inspiring and undisturbed nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.