We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one-pot evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dove Inn

The Dove Inn
Plum Pudding Lane, Dargate, Faversham ME13 9HB, England
+44 1227 751360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dargate
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Dove is a small country pub with a big reputation for outstanding food and service.Whether you want superb food, fine wine, local ales,The Dove welcomes you
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“one-pot evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Another excellent one-pot evening! You never cease to amaze us with your cooking Phil. And the atmosphere was really buzzy. Looking forward to the next one. A good evening to say farewell to Will. Our loss is Sandhurst's gain - Good Luck to you in your career. Come and see us again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    33
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

What a great pub. We popped in on a Friday hoping for lunch, but were told that they were full. The waitress then said that if fancied a drink sitting at the bar, then she would try to get us a table, and a pleasant drink (about 1/2 hour) later, we were seated at a table. Good effort.
We decided not to get a full meal although the food looked great, simply because we fancied the chicken and bacon sandwich. Well, it was the best either of us ever had. Chargrilled marinated chicken with thick traditional bacon, mayo and rocket in a very artisan sourdough... Wow! £8 each plus drinks. Serious taste, serious value.
We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch Time Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a great find The Dove Inn turned out to be. A welcome atmosphere, unpretentious pub restaurant with an affordable lunchtime menu. We indulged ourselves with their Steak and Ale Pie and Oven Baked Cod, which was very good indeed followed by a delicious chocolate brownie with ice cream. We shall definitely return. Well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Good Pub Guide Strikes Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I found myself savouring a pint in a hostelry in the Yorkshire Dales recovering from a day spent walking last summer and happened across a copy of the Good Pub Guide. As Im originally from Kent and a frequent return visitor, to catch up with family, I know that the county doesn't shine brightly on the informal culinary stage. So I browsed the entries in the Guide for the county of my birth and made a note of a few recommendations.

So fast forward to November and a family birthday seemed the perfect occasion to check out one of those recommendation, The Dove, and I wasn't disappointed. It's a picture postcard Kentish pub. Full of charm that brought back memories of my younger halcyon days, except in those days they didn't serve fayre as good as The Dove's offerings. Even if they had I wouldn't have been able to afford it - oh the poverty of my youthful budgeting!

I along with my party were welcomed and seated in the cosy bar area. The food was freshly, professionally and imaginatively prepared and presented. I particularly enjoyed my lamb main course and creme brulee desert and the comments of my fellow dinners on their menu choices met with similar approval and delight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Have just been for Sunday lunch for Mother's Day. Food was superb, one of the best roasts we've had out for a little while now. Only complaint would be Surprisingly only 2 staff members serving on a busy Mothering Sunday so had a little wait to order, but they were both extremely pleasant. Would definitely recommend and go back soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove Inn also viewed

Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Dove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.