We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dove Inn

The Dove Inn
Plum Pudding Lane, Dargate, Faversham ME13 9HB, England
+44 1227 751360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dargate
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Dove is a small country pub with a big reputation for outstanding food and service.Whether you want superb food, fine wine, local ales,The Dove welcomes you
London, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Could do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

By chance we happened to be in the area and recently having downloaded the a food guide onto my phone, we looked to see what was nearby. Seeing that The Dove Inn was listed and not too far away, we had dinner there one Friday evening. The internal décor was fresh, but unfortunately the style - without any soft furnishings/curtains - meant that the walls were very hard, causing the sound to heavily reverberate, making for a very noisy dining experience.
The level of service was unfortunately below expectations, with only 3 members of staff front of house - meant that a capacity Friday evening caused them to appear overwhelmed
The food itself was of a modern British/European style was in itself unremarkable, especially the mains. The dessert, we both chose the Chocolate Brownie had a consistency more of chocolate tiffin slice (very dense), though was very enjoyable.
The cost of the evening (2 mains, 2 desserts, wine for 1, coffee) we felt at the time was not unreasonable at £70. However the next night we dined at another pub also in the same food guide, paid an identical price (to the pound) but received immensely superior standard of food and service.
Summary: With unremarkable food, poor service and better options available - we won't be returning

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myob2, Owner at The Dove Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of your dining experience at The Dove. Your comments about the unremarkable food have been taken into account, despite the generally positive feedback we have regarding our food offer.
Greatly concerned about your description of the decor (or rather lack of it) at The Dove, we wish to clearly state that The Dove, whilst an old Victorian pub with rustic charm, does have soft furnishings and curtains throughout the public areas that contribute to the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere we strive to achieve for our drinkers and diners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    33
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westgate on Sea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Dove at Dargate is a little bit of a drive for us, but worth it. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with our enquiries about the menu, and the food was very enjoyable. The only thing I will say is that as we arrived early after reserving a table and at the time there was no one in the Restaurant so we decided to have a drink in the bar, other people started to arrive and they proceeded to sit at what ever tables they liked in the Restaurant, therefore leaving us to sit downstairs on our own as all the best tables had been taken, a little disappointing for us as there was no atmosphere. Maybe this is something that could be looked at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We'd been searching for a Sunday lunch venue in or around the Whitstable area for some time now. It's safe to say that we had been rather underwhelmed by the places that we'd tried to date. However, it looks like we've found a gem in the Dove Inn. Beef was perfectly cooked and served rare. Trimmings were plentiful and very tasty. A nice selection of desserts as well and we went home very happy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunney, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very good food & a nice atmosphere. Always like going back. The helpings are huge which suits some. The wine list is very good at a sensible price. Well done them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Shrops
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gastropub but a local as well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Delightful staff run the restaurant and the tables are wooden clean unstained and the food delicious and well presented. However the locals are also catered for and we were pleased to see some from the village just enjoying a pint without the need to be forced into a meal. The atmosphere is cosy the attitude is right and its very popular so please do book. My wife and I were visiting family so we had no idea where we were being taken but my brother visits frequently and tells me our excellent experience was the routine. Well done the Dove

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove Inn also viewed

 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Dove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.