We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not our best forgewood experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forgewood Camping

Forgewood Camping
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forgewood Camping
Save
You added Forgewood Camping to your Saves list
Sham Farm Road | Danegate, Eridge TN3 9JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not our best forgewood experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

this is not our first visit. we love coming to forgewood. the kids have a great time playing in the woods and we often only see them when they are hungry. come the evening they love that we can build a fire a toast marshmallows. however this year we were next to some very inconsiderate neighbours who were very loud till past 1.30am. after two nights we all packed up (40 of us) as we couldn't stand a 3rd night of their noise. we also a felt that considering how very full the campsite was some nicer amenities might of been welcome. the porter loo's were not nice and many of the kids wouldn't use them. no one bothered with the showers. they were not great due to the large amounts of people there and limited showers. this has not put us off returning however, but we do hope we have kinder more thoughtful neighbours next time. A nice, simple, basic, fun campsite. that said the space that was put aside for our party was incredibly generous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Set in a beautiful part of Kent and also nicely linked up to the road network. I particularly liked the unrestricted pitching and the size of the campground. We went on a rather busy, fine weekend and it was extremely busy. The toilet blocks were clean and replenished but ran out of hot water. Basically a lovely place but rather too busy for my liking.

Room Tip: Camping in the woods means more privacy and less likely others will pitch too close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We chose Forgewood after reading the Guardian article (10 best family campsites). Such high praise is always going to be difficult to live up to. The site itself is beautiful. The lady on reception who greeted us couldn't be nicer. But we got off to a bad start by arriving and being told where we COULDN'T camp (even though it appeared empty). Apparently people 'reserve' places in the fields. We have 2 young children (4 & 3yrs) and wanted to be near the facilities, but sadly this field was pre-booked with large parties already. I'm not sure where the pre-booking comes in as we'd booked several months in advance. Not to be put off we then had a look around the bottom field. Again, the shady spots we wanted had already been booked. We could only go down one side of the field near the bottom (a long way from where we had wanted). On picking a spot a woman from the next door tent came and told us she had reserved the space for her friends. By now, we were getting quite annoyed. Anyway, once pitched we realised that the whole place was filling up. It was packed (due to heatwave possibily?). It wasn't what we had in mind...peaceful, secluded. It was like a festival. Music, cars, huge catering tents that ppl had bought. The facilities (porta loos) were dirty pushed to the limit. The showers were cold by 10am.
We actually spent a lot of time away from the site in order to get some space!
It's a shame, I wish we had been warned or been given the option to book a space. Yes we could have camped in the woods, but we didn't want to be in the dark. Yes the lady was helping up by showing us less busy spots, but in the end the whole place was rammed. I wish I'd known beforehand. The irony was that come Sunday evening, EVERYONE had gone. It was just us and one other person, right down the bottom of the field. A bit too far from the showers, washing up etc.
I think they could benefit from a shower block or washing up facilities in the lower field.
We probably won't come again, I think there may be spots in Sussex a little better equipped and less 'weekend middle-class take over'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were a group of 4 families and our children were aged from 3-5yrs . An absolute scorcher of a weekend and Forgewood was ideal with its woodlands and open fields. Ideally you should pre book your spot due to the popularity of this campsite, especially in peak season. Luckily we only live in Tunbridge Wells so the men in our group arrived early and very fortunately grabbed a great available spot to pitch which was near the fields and just in the edge of the cool woods. It was apparent why it was a popular spot as it made our stay so much more enjoyable. Location is everything!!! With the porter loos around the corner there was an optional use of a very sweet little log bridge that crossed over to the facilities and fields. The kids loved walking across this bridge.

We all arrived with our children around 4pm (Friday) the open space was filling up rapidly with happy campers. The atmosphere was buzzing and it was a beautiful evening. There were children running around exploring, playing in fields, adults around a fire or barbecuing - everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves in the glorious weather.

This was our second time at Forgewood but the first time for the rest of our group. Am pleased to say we all loved our short stay despite the first evening was ridiculously loud (but that's given seeing everyone wants to enjoy themselves right?) The second night was very quiet and this was very surprising seeing as the noise from the night before was practically around the clock! Kids will run through your site where you've pitched but we just told them not to after a couple of times doing so when the kids were asleep. Thankfully they were respectful.

The porter loos were kept fairly clean - considering the number of campers it fared well. I would say that perhaps where the fresh water tap was down the bottom field could have benefited from having straw put down as it did become very muddy and treacherous especially for the younger ones. Besides that small glitch, It's a great place to camp if you're a relaxed person and don't mind the noise. The children loved it and we will definitely bring them back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fabulous setting in countryside but with convenience of handy on site shop stocking essentials, cafe and nice restaurant. Woods great for the kids and lovely to be able to have camp fires. However, the portaloos in the bottom fields were in a disgusting state - particularly by sunday morning after a busy saturday! They really need proper cleaning every 3 hours or so OR replacing with proper toilet facilities. What a shame as this really let the site down!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a weekend at Forgewood with a group of families and I could not rate it highly enough.

Lovely setting, the woods are an amazing playground for all ages.

Well stocked shop for emergency purchases and icecream. Cafe looks great will try next time. Real fires and the campfire grills were a hit.

I was a little nervous about the toilets from reading previous reviews but it seems management have listened and the facilities were clean and well maintained over the weekend including hot showers.

Staff were really helpful and efficient yet chilled out. Special word for Lou at forest school who used some kind of magic to charm the kiddies. Rated 'best camp site ever' and 100/10 from our children which is pretty good !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful area, lovely woodland site but way overpriced and noone seems to enforce the rules. We were sold on the site because they listed an Adult Only area, welcomed well-behaved dogs and didn't allow amplified music. The Adult Only area was filled with families with screeching children, there were dogs off lead that came to visit our dog, who is very particular about her canine companions, and we were serenaded at 3:30 in the morningby some dreadful ghetto blaster in a nearby tent. As others have mentioned, there are very few toilet facilities, and the struggle to keep them even reasonably clean was a lost cause.
The staff is friendly; the shop and cafe well stocked and open late; the restuarant convenient with a decent wine selection. If you have small energetic children and don't care about noise and dirt, Forgewood will probably suit. If you want a relaxing weekend in the woods, communing with nature, enjoying peace and quiet, forget it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forgewood Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forgewood Camping

Address: Sham Farm Road | Danegate, Eridge TN3 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eridge
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forgewood Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.