We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nevill Crest and Gun

Nevill Crest and Gun
Eridge Road | Eridge Green, Eridge TN3 9JR, England
01892 864209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Eridge
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: English, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
East Sussex
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have dined as a family here several times since its reopening. The food has been top class. Really good gastro pub style menu plus seasonal specials as well. It can be pretty busy on Friday and Saturday evenings, so you can often expect to wait or struggle to get a last minute reservation. Other nights are not as busy and you usually get seated swiftly. It also has lovely oudoor seating for summer. Plan ahead and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    81
    37
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Much improved venue and menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been back a few times after the large revamp. It is improving all the time - really nice space and food is better and better. Nice friendly staff. Children really enjoy the garden, especially the old tractor!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food but not sure about gluten free menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a meal out here last week, specifically as they offered a gluten free menu. Food quality and service were excellent. However when I ordered cheese and biscuits I was told that there were no GF biscuits and would GF toast be ok, very disappointing. Also one of the dishes on the menu contained cous cous which is a wheat variant leaving me to wonder if they really understood what gluten free really is?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cheerful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just turned up after 6 pm on Saturday night without a booking - no problem.

Shared a starter, main meal hubby had pork with crackling I had steak - so tender and just cooked how I like it. Plenty left over to take home to our two retrievers and the steak to make a sandwich on Sunday.

Attentive staff, lovely meal, easy parking - brilliant - would recommend especially in the summer with a garden and facilities for children. ENJOY.

PS: Dog friendly inside and out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Much improved venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went back here last week to see how things had changed since the place had been refurbished last year. Verdict - a very much improved establishment. The conservatory is a great place to eat with all round windows but at the same time centrally heated. Staff were polite and friendly. Menu is varied although a tad on the pricey side for what is in effect a pub with seating area to eat. Also, I suspect that as part of a chain of pubs much of the food is prepared in advance and just heated up at the venue but that having been said the food we did have was plentiful and well presented washed down with a couple of pints of locally brewed ale

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevill Crest and Gun also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Eridge, East Sussex
 
Crowborough, East Sussex
Crowborough, East Sussex
 

Been to Nevill Crest and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevill Crest and Gun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.