We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts, food and views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amherst Shore Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amherst Shore Country Inn
Save
You added Amherst Shore Country Inn to your Saves list
RR #2, Lorneville, Nova Scotia B4H 3X9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Lorneville B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, food and views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I just returned from two nights at this inn while in Amherst to attend a wedding. Mary and Rob were very warm and welcoming hosts and the breakfast they served each morning was the best ever. The grounds and gardens are meticulously groomed and each morning we were beckoned to the ocean front by the gentle lane that runs through the property. Walking the beach at low tide was a great way to begin or end our day. Our very clean ground level room (room 7) had a double bed and a twin bed, a private bathroom, desk area, small refrigerator and free wi-fi. We opened the patio doors when we were in the room to feel the brush of the ocean breezes. It is a peaceful and restful place to spend time. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If we were to stay longer than the weekend, I would have liked to try the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Each day starts with a great breakfast-tastey scones, bacon/sausage, blueberry pancakes etc. Cocktails are at 7 followed by your evening 4 course meal which is a gastronomic delight. All breads, pasteries and desserts are baked on site and are excellent. The meals are a rare combination of taste and textures that tantalizes.
The shore line is great. You can easily spend leisurly hours reading; swimming etc. The ocean breezes and the sounds of the waves are fantastic.
Would definately recommend this place to anyone and will be returning.

Room Tip: The chalets have a wonderful vista from bedroom and living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Amherst Shore Country Inn on the last night of our 2 week vacation in Nova Scotia. It was a perfect place to say goodbye to all that we loved about our holiday. The location is beautiful! We explored the beach at low tide and relaxed by the shore before our dinner. The meal was excellent: mushroom soup, salad with blueberry dressing (very yummy), pork tenderloin, stuffed sole, lemon creme brulee, chocolate pecan pie. Everything was freshly made and delicious. Our room looked out to the ocean. It was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was just as satisfying as our dinner. Mary was welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere of this special inn allowed guests to feel completely relaxed. We set off for home well rested and definitely well fed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a delicious supper at the inn and we highly recommend dinner here. All courses were delicious. Our room was one of the chalets and was lovely with the minor exception of the bathroom which was quite small. Would love to come back and enjoy another meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stopped here for the night on our way from Halifax to P.E.I. We stayed in one of the four suites located a short distance from the Main Inn, in two very nice duplexed cottages. Each unit has it's own deck with great chairs for lounging and taking in the view. The innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating.
Our unit had a Queen four poster bed, in suite jacuzzi tub as well as a kitchenette and sitting area. Also included free wifi - a great bonus as we were on a working 'vacation'.
The property is lovely, 20 acres of farm/lawn sloping down past a large pond and gazebo to the beach. We were lucky to have the tide out and went for a walk on the red sand after dinner in town. Breakfast was a separate fee - but was absolutely amazing! We had raisin scones and blueberry pancakes and bacon - everything was cooked to perfection and came with fresh fruit, juice and tea or coffee. Well worth the price. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ns
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This review is a little late, as we were there in August 2011 (for our 2nd time). We had a suite with a jacuzzi & fireplace. It has a mini kithcen with all the dishes, etc. you woud need so you could cook your own meals, if needed.

Lots of space and a little deck area which we hung out in and had a few drinks while watching the view - amazing.

The place was showing its age in a few areas (the door handle fell off in our hand) but just little things and I would still recommend the place.

The food was great. 4 course meal and they had a great wine (one of my favourites, made locally - Jost).

The grounds are nice to walk around & though it was full when we were there, it was still quiet and service was not impeded at meal time.

We love this little place and would stay there again - would recommend it to anyone travelling in that area.

Room Tip: Would prefer the suites versus the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Wonderful place to visit. The chalets were very clean and well equipped. The food was fantastic. Had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts and things couldn't have been better. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amherst Shore Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Shore Country Inn

Address: RR #2, Lorneville, Nova Scotia B4H 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Lorneville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lorneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Country Inn Amherst
Amherst Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amherst Shore Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.