We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not happy with room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
2185 U Avenue, I-80 Amana Exit 225, Williamsburg, IA 52361-8660 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Russell, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Was not happy with room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our room had sewer gas coming out of the sink everytime someone flushed the toilet, and the water tasted like sewer. Had a bug crawl across the floor, but thought in came in from outside until I got up at 3:30 am to go to the bathroom and killed 2 more bugs in there. The room looked clean, but was so disappointed, I was in town cause I had attended my uncles funeral in Moline. I had never, ever had such nasty water that smelled. It was awful.

Room Tip: Go to Motel 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    47
    6
    15
    29
See reviews for
66
102
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a confirmed mid-week reservation, but when we arrived we had to wait for a room that met our needs. We had 3 adults but could not get extra linens and pillows. Beds were very uncomfortable. There were signs, warnings and restrictions all over the hotel. Looked great on the surface but we did not get our needs met. Ice machine broken, lack of coffee, and breakfast was offsite with a restricted menu that did not meet our dietary needs as we had a diabetic and someone with food allergies. We would not ever return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hariominc, General Manager at Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I recall you ladies distinctly...you make it out in your review that the room you reserved was not ready knowing very well that you changed to a different room type at check-in and i advised you that it would involve a wait....re. the ice machine you used our gound level ice machine several times however, again you write as though there was only one ice machine and that was out of order...you were the one that selected to have the hot country breakfast after reading the menu clearly displayed on the desk when you had the option of taking the room without the breakfast....then you go on to write about our rules and policies.....if this was a hotel without any rules and policies you would be the first one to jump up and down about not having any rules and policies.....finally, you conveniently forgot about how clean, quiet, private and secure our hotel is and the courtesies extended to you all including helping you with getting your baggage to your room!...your deception in the review is truly disappointing especially you being a retired teacher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Heritage Inn several times over the past few years. Each time we are greeted by the manager and his mother with smiles and service above and beyond what one would expect. The rooms are most adequate and well maintained. The coupons for a free breakfast at the Colony Restaurant are wonderful. The ease of getting into the colonies is also a huge plus. We did not take advantage of the pool, but it would be a welcome respite for many travelers.

We will definitely stay at this hotel whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hariominc, Manager at Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Maam / Sir....Thank You so very much for your support over the years and Thank You even more so for your kind words ....we are grateful to you both and wish you all Health, Wealth & Happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After looking at reviews we chose to stay here - big mistake should have just moved further on the road when going to the Amanas. For the price you pay you will have an absolutly horrible experience. The bed was very subpar, the sheets were at least 10+ years old and the towels were obvioulsly well used. The hotel would due well to update all three of those items to match the prices they charge. Not to mention hire an exterminator as we discovered bugs on the second floor. The hotel had a pool and hot tub - though the hut tub had absolutly no water in it. The hotel offers a breakfast at a local restaurant across the interstate, which was above average. My back though was absolutly killing me though for sleeping on that mattress.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Sandi, the manager, has given me quite literally the best customer service of any hotel I have stayed at. The rooms were clean, the hotel was quiet, and was fairly priced. I would not choose to stay anywhere else while passing through. If you want a hassle free stay, this is the place.

Room Tip: Just ask Sandi what is best for you. He will not dissapoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hariominc, Manager at Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir....Thank You so very much for your kind words and your support......we will do our level best for you always....Best Wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very pleasurable stay! Clean rooms, extremely friendly staff, great service, nice pool, and you will get a good nights' sleep at this hotel. This hotel is great for anyone! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank You so very much for your kind comments....you and your family are special guests for us.....all health, wealth and happiness to you all....Best Wishes Always!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My family of four stayed at this hotel while passing through the area, and we were all very disappointed. The manager (Sandi) was very pleasant, communicative, and helpful; however, the room definitely did not meet our expectations, especially for the price. The carpet was dirty, the room had an unpleasant odor, the beds squeaked, the pillows were flat, and the bed linens were clearly well-used and in need of replacement. On the positive side, the breakfast included with the room price at a local restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank You for your input we will work towards the concerns you have mentioned....i do respect people like yourselves who even if they are not pleased still maintain a level of politeness and cordiality in their complaints....it is truly a wonderful trait and we take their comments most seriously.....i just wish you would have mentioned these to me whilst you were here and i would have personally given extra pillows or changed the room or whatever else needed to be taken care of....Sandi Shah....General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites

Address: 2185 U Avenue, I-80 Amana Exit 225, Williamsburg, IA 52361-8660 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% SMOKE-FREE hotel. Newest hotel at I-80 Amana Exit # 225. Indoor Heated POOL & Hydrotherapy Spa. Hotel has an ELEVATOR. Free High Speed Wireless Internet. Option of Hot restaurant country breakfast at the popular Colony Village Restaurant at this exit, if the hot breakfast rate is selected. 5 Minutes drive from great shopping at the famous Tanger Outlet Mall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel Williamsburg
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel And Suites
Heritage Hotel Amana Colonies
Amana Colonies Iowa Lodging
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites Williamsburg, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites to your Saves list