We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Villages

Seven Villages
2211 U Avenue, Williamsburg, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: American, German
Description: It's part of what's called the Wasserbahn Waterpark Resort on State Route 151 and Interstate I-80.
Restaurant details
Description: It's part of what's called the Wasserbahn Waterpark Resort on State Route 151 and Interstate I-80.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The restaurant is nearly empty. It is closed on Mondays. The waitress was friendly, but the food was just average. The hotel attached to this restaurant is in bad shape. It's too bad. This was a great place to stay and visit about three years ago. I can't imagine what happened.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hostess was more interested in finishing work at the register than in seating me. I ordered a bratwurst omelet for breakfast with egg substitute. What I received was a pile of eggs (?), cheese and sliced bratwurst. The eggs were rubbery and couldn't even be cut with a fork! Worst omelet I think I've ever had. Remainder of breakfast, including coffee, was good. Service after being seated was good. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“our family likes it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Their menu has gotten a lot smaller, but their tenderloins are really yummy. I would recommend eating here, it is a nice place, and the waitresses are always really good, they cater to families.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we lived in Chicago many years ago we used to meet friends from Omaha at the Holiday Inn at Little Amana (now the Clarion) for the weekend. We had many enjoyable visits over the years and always ate at the 7 Villages. Although there have been many changes to the hotel (and theses changes are NOT for the better) the meal we had at the 7 Villages was just like the old days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest US
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Going in the Wrong Direction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Interesting reading some of the reviews on here and surprising that so many are positive. My family stop at this restaurant for lunch about annually on our way to Wisconsin. This year I walked out thinking this will be our last time.

First off, we arrived for lunch, sat down and it took about 10 minutes for anyone to come over to us. The waitress handed us menu's except they weren't the normal menu's, they were just copies of a menu. Then several of the items on the menu were crossed out with a marker. It's a little scary when you're being given paper menu's with crossed out items.

The waitress we did have was great...that was the best part of the visit. I ordered a simple cheeseburger and it was bland and dry. The sauerkraut side I got had a bitter taste to it. The highlight of the meal was the cinnamon roles with extra helpings of frosting.

The place looks the same every year and the clientele, at least when we stopped for lunch, seems to be mainly for the senior crowd. As I said, this was probably my last visit here because even though it was sort of a tradition to stop here, I'd rather spend my money on a decent meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Villages also viewed

 

Been to Seven Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.