We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark to your Saves list
Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 U. Avenue, Exit 225, 1-80, Williamsburg, IA 52361 (Formerly Clarion Inn Amana Colonies and Wasserbahn Waterpark Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Williamsburg
Iowa
1 review
“Weekend Get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Excellent all around here. Its set up right off of interstate 80 very close to Iowa City, The rooms
were all redone within the last couple years and are super nice. It is a very clean hotel with great staff and service. The water park is not huge but is a perfect size for a nice get away. The pool area is well maintained as is the grounds. The lobby is also a nice amish statement. Desk staff are wonderful and check in was a snap. The food is fantastic and portions are huge. All in all this hotel is obviously well managed and cared for. On a side note the winery is a good stop too! Will be back to Wasserbahn again!!!

Room Tip: I have been here several times but like the second floor rooms as they connect with the pool room vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    37
    26
    39
See reviews for
119
9
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slinger, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to Wasserbahn as a kind of last minute, overnight get-away. The hotel didn't seem too busy since the Hawkeyes had an away game. (We heard it gets busy during home games). We got a regular queen room that had bunk beds for our two kids, age 3 and 6. They thought the bunk beds were awesome. They even had their own TV/DVD player in their little corner of the room. The room was not overly large, but was clean and comfortable. The hotel does not serve a complimentary breakfast in the morning, but there is a restaurant on site. Our kids enjoyed the waterpark. It wasn't overly large, but it kept our kids entertained. The lifegaurds seemed very professional and attentive. We went to the Iowa Children's Museum at the Coralville Mall, after we checked out of the hotel. It made for a nice little getaway for our family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Picked this overnight stop because of the Choice Hotels free-nights promotion. Hotel is in rural area along I-80 with Tanger Discount Mall at next exit, and Amana tourist area a few miles to the North off the Interstate.
Check-in was very slow with front desk staff seemingly in on-the-job training. The waterpark wristbands and internal hotel charge-slips adds to the time-consuming check-in process. No express check-out offered, even for a Choice Hotels profile-user than stays at the chain a lot.
Hotel is nice and clean. Basic two-story box shape with waterpark in the middle. This hotel opened as a Holiday Inn, and looks like the standard roadside internal-hallways design of the 80's. There is a wooden play structure and mini golf outside between the parking lot and the Interstate. The waterpark is small and water cold. Area is shallow and suitable for smaller children. There are two internal/exterior small water slides. There is a large corner whirlpool spa that is limited to adults-only. Unlike another reviewer, I appreciated that this little corner of the world was off-limits to kids. Very nice, hot warm water therapy after a long day's drive. (When I was in the spa, the lifeguards were enforcing the adults-only rule because they asked a young daughter to leave her father in the spa and get out of the fenced area. )
The restaurant is Amish food like the rest of the Amanas, and serves large meals at prices that are on the higher side. Maid-Rite (local Iowa loose-meat sandwich) is in the parking lot for cheaper food. Macs and Arby's are at the next exit for fast cheap food. There is a snack shop inside the waterpark, but it was closed while I was there.
Summary: nice for little kids, and a quick stop along the highway.

Room Tip: Two story hotel in rectangular box shape with waterpark in the middle. More noise at the front end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here over the long Holiday weekend. Hoping the waterpark would be fun for our 4-year old, and 10-month old. We found it to be really small for a "waterpark", and the inside air temp was cold as well as the water temp. Because of the size, there seemed to be more people than probably allowed, there weren't any available chairs, or areas to put your towels, shoes, etc. We ended up using the ledge of the wall. There are 2 water slides, but you can only ride them one person at a time, my daughter (being only 4) likes to ride tandem, and this was not allowed, so no using the slides. There are no "lifeguards" but there were a few staff members walking around, but they didn't seem to mind the behavior of anyone, I was hit in the head with a heavy ball because of inappropriate play and it wasn't a big deal. The room was very average (2 queen), and clean, but the bathroom was SMALL, and hadn't been updated since mid 90's, except for maybe the countertop. I noticed with some of the staff, when approached, they would just look at you rather than asking if you needed help with something, not sure what that was about, but not the greatest Customer Service skills I've encountered, that is for sure. We've been to other larger waterparks with nicer rooms for the price, and probably won't put this on the list of places to return to. As a side note, the rooms do not have refridgerators, and to get one will cost you $15.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The lady at the front desk at both check in and out was super nice. We got to the hotel earlier than expected and played a round of mini golf while we waited for our room. Our room was ready when we were done and it was a very nice 2 bedroom family suite. The bunk beds were fun for the kids and the rooms would easily accomodate 8. The water park was small but the kids (6,8,10) loved it. The water temperature was perfect! The only thing I can really complain about is - no kids under 16 allowed in the hot tub. There was hardly anyone in the hot tub (a few times it was only my husband and me and we wouldn't have minded kids in there with us-it wasn't even too hot) it's a water park FOR kids and so I can't understand why anyone would care if there were kids in there. We had room service for breakfast and it was fast and delicious. The arcade was fun and the prizes at the front desk were good. I especially liked the apples at the front desk and the water/granola bar we got at check in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with 5 of our grandkids (9 & under). We booked a big room that had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. There was plenty of room, even with the sofa pulled out we had room for the kids to play and to set up a playpen for the youngest one to sleep in. The kids all had a great time at the waterpark (admission is included in room price). We stayed one night for $130! Had breakfast at the attached restaurant and got 10% off the cost because we were hotel guests. The room was nice and clean and all of the staff we encountered were awesome! Will go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The rooms are clean, average sized, and quiet even with a lot of kids there. The bar closes at 10pm. The water park is all in-door, and as a result it is really loud and reeks of chlorine. My kids eyes were burning at one point from the chemicals in the water, however they do close the pool to check the water frequently, which is nice. On the safety side of how they run the water-park, I have two complaints: Only two lifeguards on duty with about 100 people in the pools, and so many exits and entrances you need to keep a close eye on your kids.

There is dining nearby, but for the real Amana colonies experience, go into the village, it is well worth the 5 mile drive off the interstate.

Room Tip: Check the Clarion website for special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark

Address: 2211 U. Avenue, Exit 225, 1-80, Williamsburg, IA 52361 (Formerly Clarion Inn Amana Colonies and Wasserbahn Waterpark Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A favorite destination located at Exit 225 I-80 is the Ramada, Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark, conveniently located near Iowa's historic Amana Colonies, the Tanger Outlet Mall, Iowa City/Coralville and University of Iowa and the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. On site guest can enjoy, the indoor waterpark, famous Amana foods in the Seven Villages Restaurant & Bar, outdoor (seasonal) miniature golf, Amana Winery, & Maid Rite Diner & Godfather's Pizza. The waterpark is open daily, and the water slides are open every Friday, Saturday, and Sundays. Waterpark hours may change seasonally so guests are encouraged to call ahead of time to confirm. For guests with pets please inquire about our pet designated rooms. All rooms come with complementary passes to the waterpark and the miniature golf. We are also pleased to offer spacious and beautiful banquet spaces for larger weddings, receptions, family reunions, meetings, as well as smaller conference rooms for more intimate meetings or smaller business meetings. Special packages and group rates can also be customized to meet any of your hospitality needs. We look forward to your stay at Ramada, Williamsburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Amana Colonies And Wasserbahn Waterpark Hotel Amana
Ramada Williamsburg And Wasserbahn Waterpark Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.