We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly remodeled Hampton - very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Des Moines-West

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Des Moines-West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7060 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Chicago
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled Hampton - very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stay in lots of Hamptons and this one is very nice. The lobby was recently remodeled and it would appear so were the rooms. Everything was as nice as any Hampton I've stayed in. The heater in the room was very quiet (unlike my last Hampton) and I could not even hear when it cycled on and off during the night. The full hot breakfast was very good and there's a very nice shopping mall (Jordan Creek) just a mile or so south of the hotel with several restaurants including PF Changs, Cheesecake Factory and Bravo Cucina Italiana.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    64
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
56
11
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was here on a business trip for a couple of nights. Normally I stay in the Hilton Garden Inn in West Des Moines, but they were sold out.

Happy:

- Room ready when I checked in early around noon

- Front desk always friend and helpful

- Reasonable rates

- Free Water and Breakfast (at least for this trip)

- Had "bag breakfast" to go for those in a hurry

Unhappy:

- Did not offer my HHonor water upon check in, and no water in the room either. When I went to the front desk to ask for a bottle, they were happy to oblige.

- My profile is for a queen or king bed in HHonors, but I got 2 doubles in the room, no bid deal, but they should have known

- Apparently breakfast was free, which is great, but no one told me, so I made arrangement to meet someone for breakfast somewhere else

- The hotel is practically on the free way, so there was a constant freeway "hum", not horrible as you can get used to it, but I would prefer to be at the Garden Inn where it is more quiet

- Paper cups in the room. Not a big deal, but it would be environmentally more friendly and more "classy" to have real glasses

- the Room had a little odor, maybe from old carpet, not horrible, but didn't smell clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We used this facility to house our staff as well as those attending a conference we were conducting at a venue nearby. The Hampton staff was most accommodating; the rooms were perfect and met staff needs-both personal and business; the breakfast was perfect and ready early; and the "living room" downstairs was a nice place to unwind and chit chat at the end of the day. Would recommend to anyone needing a place to stay whether for business or personal.

Room Tip: Did not use the spa so cannot rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our group of 18 stayed here for a conference down the road at the Hy-Vee Conference Center. We found this to be a top-notch Hampton Inn with a VERY friendly and responsive staff. The rooms and hallways were clean, comfy and crisp. The lobby was inviting, with comfortable chairs, and the breakfast was well-tended!!! In addition, this hotel is close to the highway, but there was no highway noise at night! Jodi & Liz helped us throughout the reservation process and once we arrived. Jodi even suggested a local restaurant for our departing dinner and reserved the hotel van to transport most of us there! Their efficient and upbeat support was much appreciated! Many thanks for alleviating a lot of the stress as we worked feverishly for two straight days!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a soccer tournament this past weekend and I was very impressed. The rooms were clean and updated, when I called the hotel to make a reservation due to a mix up on my part with our team, "Betty" (?) at the front desk was very helpful in finding me a room. The check in was easy, the rooms are on the small side (double double) but still bigger than many hotels. The bed linens were clean and fresh, the rooms were quiet, and the breakfast staff absolutely busts their behinds to keep everything filled and clean. Good complimentary breakfast selection too! I Would definitely stay here again, this was better than a few Marriott's I have been at and at a much better price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights while in town for a soccer tournament. I was a bit concerned about the noise level as the hotel was full of boys from multiple teams, but I was amazed that once in our room how well insulated the walls were. This hotel is also close to HWY 235 and it you can barely hear any road noise. The room was large with 2 queen beds (comfortable) and bathroom was updated and CLEAN! Breakfast provided multiple options and was kept well stocked even though there were a lot of teenage boys eating throughout breakfast hours. Coffee and hot water and a variety of tea was also available all day which was a nice perk. All staff (front desk and housekeeping) were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stopped here on way to Estes Park, CO. We were pleasantly surprised at the amenities included - a very nice alcove for the computer/desk, a pleated window shade, good lighting, an AC/heat system that had a very low speed fan which brought in fresh air all the time so the room never felt stuffy or that you were in a gale-like breeze. Breakfast had loads of selections, incl. Denver omelets & turkey sausage. The price was good & we'd certainly stop here again.

Room Tip: even though it was near the interstate we had very little road noise in our room - ask for a room aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-West

Address: 7060 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Des Moines-West is conveniently located in West Des Moines, off of I-80 in West Lakes Office Park. Our Des Moines hotel is near Jordan Creek Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West Hotel West Des Moines
Hampton Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Des Moines-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.