We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Des Moines-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Des Moines-West to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7060 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed only one night. We had no issues with this hotel. We slept well; breakfast was good. I would stay here again if I traveled through that part of the country. Easy to get to. Everything was clean. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    72
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
65
13
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Western North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

For a property within several hundred yards of busy I-80 in Iowa, this motel is quiet. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The parking lot was so well lighted. We felt comfortable walking late at night. Free breakfast was presented well and easy to access. The areas within the near vicinity were well-kept. We appreciated how easy it was to make online reservations three hours ahead and found everything to be in order when we checked in.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be pretty quiet even though they are close to the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location, right off the highway. The staff were pleasant and helpful . Rooms are beautiful and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Towels were plush and soft. Pool and hot tub were very nice. Good selection of breakfast food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Hampton Inn in West Des Moines is what one expects from this chain of hotels. Staff was very helpful and professional. Room was clean and well appointed. Complimentary breakfast was very well executed. Pool was clean and open until midnight.

Overall, this was a near-perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice clean room with the usual Hampton Inn free breakfast Buffett. Close to major expressways, and about 30 minutes from the airport. Conveniently located 5 minutes for Jordan Creek Mall as well as a number of other nice restaurants. I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the financial companies as well as numerous restaurants.

Clean, comfortable with trivia questions every day! Often sold out during peak times...so make reservations if you are planning a stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter since th face away from the main raking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We hit this Hampton on a Saturday as our last stop after an 8-day vacation out west....arrived after dinner hour (luckily I made a reserve the morning of that night), and it was packed with families and kids in the common area adjacent to checkin. I was dreading a noisy night with kids running around our hallway. But not the case; was told about the 5-7 pm cocktail hour, breakfast buffet. Our room was perfect. They even have full length mirrors both on the wall and in the bathroom door. Someone has finally gotten that message about a small but important thing necessary in a hotel room! They get 5 stars from me for thinking of it. The furniture was computer desk area was very hip and trendy. I think it was a baseball or soccer tournament most of t hose families were stopping over for. the breakfast area next morning was packed with kids. The location is a little hard to find if you book online because it only says the exit but not the turns you need to get to it. Call the front desk for specific entry directions. Hard to find, tough to beat (as they say).

Room Tip: Ask front desk for directions to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I am currently at this Hampton on the second of a 2 night stay. Check-in was quick, easy, and friendly. I have a double room and it's very clean, and doesn't have that funky hotel smell that some have. This Hampton is decorated in a kind of a folksy style. I'm not sure if that's because it's Iowa or if that's how they all are, but there are lots of black and white photos of farms, fairs, kids in hay, etc. It's really cute.

The location is convenient in that it's right off the highway. However, it's in kind of an office park area, so there are no restaurants or stores within sight or walking distance.

Breakfast this morning was plentiful as others have described - all of your typical hot and cold hotel breakfast offerings. There was even a bowl of peeled hard boiled eggs.

Apparently there is some kind of evening snack offered - when I walked through the lobby at 5:30 there were some chips, pretzels, and salsa out (maybe some other things). I'm not sure how anyone was supposed to know it was there - there are no signs up about a happy hour, and it wasn't mentioned at check-in.

One area in which improvement is needed is the fitness room. The room is tiny, and barely big enough for the one treadmill, one bike, and one eliptical. There's not nearly enough room and equipment for the hotel. I assume this hotel is mostly used by business travelers (that's what it seems like this week, I haven't seen a single child here). In my experience, business travelers are alone and want to keep to their typical routine, which may include a workout. So, a bigger fitness room with at least 6 machines is needed. 2 of the 3 times I've tried to use the treadmill it was occupied. So today I decided to jump on the bike while I waited. I biked for 30 minutes and the treadmill guy showed no signs of stopping. I know I could have asked him, but that's not my style. There's no sign up saying there's a 30 minute limit (there probably should be), but it seems like common courtesy.

Other than that small complaint, I heartily recommend this Hampton. Also, check out the mall area just about 5 minutes from the hotel - tons of restaurants, shopping, and a nice movie theater.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, the first floor has smoking rooms and has that lysol mixed with stale smoke s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-West

Address: 7060 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Des Moines-West is conveniently located in West Des Moines, off of I-80 in West Lakes Office Park. Our Des Moines hotel is near Jordan Creek Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West Hotel West Des Moines
Hampton Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Des Moines-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.