We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel good for travel on a mid budget.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7225 Vista Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Basic hotel good for travel on a mid budget.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Clean with all the amenities. Common areas much nicer than room. Room pretty simple but bed wasn't bad and pillows were nice. Would stay again for location and price. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
23
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got this place super cheap by naming our own price on priceline. We were so pleased. The room was very nice and very clean with comfortable beds and good shower pressure. The pool and fitness area were nice. It is in a convenient area with plenty of restaurants and near Jordan Creek. The breakfast was great (breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fresh bananas and apples, grapefruit, yogurt, toast, muffins, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal...quite the spread for a free hotel breakfast. We paid less than the advertised price at a junky motel 6 we drove by on our way to the Cyclones game in Ames the next day, and this place was definitely deserving of at least the 2.5 star rating it had on priceline.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Its exactly what you expect. Which is a good thing. The rooms are neat, its not fancy but its clean and functional. You get a bed, a desk and a bathroom. The breakfast is a little short on fresh but if you like yogurt or bread you are all set. The summary is clean,close, and corporate which is pretty good lately.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

At the bottom end of the Marriott Chain of hotels, there is nothing spectacular about this property, but IT IS all that I said in the title.

As a traveler, I stay in many Marriott properties, but not often the Fairfield's. You know what you're getting; decent bed, good tv, okay shower, and decent breakfast food (complimentary).

If you want a no frills clean and comfortable stay, this will suit you just fine. If you want something "comfy", you should pay more and look at other Marriott or Sheraton properties in DesMoines.

Part of the no frills was that the (free) in-room wifi was S...L...O...W.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room NOT on the interstate side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I slept in a room on the side away from the highway. It was a quiet night sleep. room was nice but its seen its better days As the carpent looked warn, the clock radio was cracked and I couldnt' turn on one of the lights. Nice to see it had a mini fridge and microwave. Liked this hotel better than the Springhill across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For the price that you pay for the room, it definately needs some work. I did read reviews before we traveled to this location so I had alot of things in my head from what I had read. This is how our experience was. Everyone says customer service was terrible, we had no issues someone was at the desk when we walked through the door and greeted us, check-in took like 2 seconds with no issues at all. Person was very nice and polite and quick, knew what he was doing. We checked into the whirlpool suite as we were staying for our anniversary. The carpet definately needs cleaned, for the price that you pay for the rooms you would think the up keep of the hotel would be better. The jacuzzi tub, with the fireplace and tv was AWESOME! That was my favorite part of the room. The bed was comfortable, but everytime you moved or tossed or turned or sat down or up whatever it was it squeaked VERY ANNOYING! About 10:30-11 PM at night all of a sudden we head VERY LOUD noises from the water pipes running, we were on the 4th floor so I'm not sure where it was coming from, but it was LOUD and loud enough to keep us awake for at least 30 minutes. Then it was quite the rest of the night being on the opposite side of the interstate helped as well. However had a BRIGHT SHINING LIGHT that they put on the side of the building that was RIGHT NEXT to our window, so the black out curtains didn't do much as they don't close all the way, so that was also annoying. I definately think the room needs some updates, the couch looked like it was from the 70's and again the carpet needed cleaned. The pool and hot tub were downstairs were great, the AC didn't work the greatest, thankfully it wasn't very hot out. The breakfast in the morning was definately packed, but we didn't stay for that, so I don't have much feedback on that. For the price of the room though I thought it was definately overpriced for the condition of the hotel. Don't think I would return, if you're looking for quality. If you're not picky it's probably ok. :)

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the interstate away from a light on the side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Fairfield is in a nice area of upscale office parks just off the I80 exit ramp. Several restaurants, mostly of the fast food variety, are nearby. We were greeted pomptly by a friendly staff member. We called ahead for availability and were offered a handicap accessible room at a slightly lower cost. The only drawback, which was explained to us, is that there is no counter space in the bathroom. Our room was on the opposite side from the interstate and was quiet. Included breakfast is average but suitable. This is a good choice to spend the night when traveling through on I80.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thirdcoast,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to have had you stay with us and enjoy your visit. We’re glad you found us to be a convenient stop and recommend our nice hotel to other viewers. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Address: 7225 Vista Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.