We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My wife and I just spent two wonderful days in this hotel. I was amazed at how clean and well maintained this place was. It is close to downtown Des Moines and real easy to find. The elevators move a little slow, but that didn't ruin my stay. A+ for the breakfast buffet too!! The omlete I had was awesome!! What a bargain!!

  • Liked — location and price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    54
    11
    13
See reviews for
48
30
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

Two adults and two kids (14 and 10) stayed here in mid-July, 2007. We got the hotel for a great price on Hotwire. Everything was excellent, making the Hotwire price a super deal. The only complaint is lack of free wireless Internet in the rooms (I believe $9.95 per day). Otherwise, everything from check-in to check-out was top-notch. we'll definitely plan on staying here again the next time in Des Moines.

  • Liked — Location and overall quality
  • Disliked — Lack of free wireless Internet
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We recently stayed at the sheraton for a quick one night stay. Room was very clean and and suite was spacious. It was a very beautiful hotel....nice lobby area,etc... Front desk was swamped when we got there but they were very nice. However there were a few sports tournaments in the area and the hotel was the host hotel and they were not prepared for the amount of people checking in. Rooms were not ready at check in time. That was just an observation and did not affect my family, our room was ready on time.
The only down side to this hotel - the elevators. For the number of rooms there are only two elevators that are very slow. I know that sounds like a very petty thing to complain about but it was really bothersome.
Other then the elevators our stay was very enjoyable!

  • Liked — Beautiful Lobby
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

This hotel is a good stay. I like how it was designed in an open square and a large lobby. It reminded me of my favorite Hyatt hotel. The Sheraton creates a nice balance of an upscale hotel with a down to earth feel, making an enviroment that makes you feel comfortable.

We got a two bedroom suite for really cheap. I used Priceline to reserve a standard room for $50/night. When I got there, I asked to upgrade to a suite, and it was only $20/night extra!
The suite had a refridgerator and microwave in the seperate living area.

This used to be a Holiday Inn. After a lot of remodeling, there weren't any signs of the Holiday inn, but the pool. Their swimming pool was the perfect size for 2-3 people. But it was still too small. There is also a whirlpool and sauna. The pool was open from 5am to midnight, which was good!

The staff was nice and professional. I called down for extra blankets and pillows, 5 minutes later there was someone at my door. I called for new towels in the pool area, somebody came with a cart 10 minutes later. The pool was open until midnight, but I was still swimming, and the security guard asked me when I would be finished because he needed to close down the spa. He let me swim until 2am! How nice of him.

I would come back to this hotel if I were to stay in Des Moines again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton for two nights while in West Des Moines. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The room has been refurbished and is very clean. Maid service was excellent. The bartenders were very friendly and had some good advice on local bars and restaurants to go to. We took a shuttle to nearby restaurant free of cost. They will pick you up before 11:00 pm. Our shuttle driver, Leah, was very nice! The only thing that could be better is if the breakfast buffet was included with the room. The candid traveler photos look exactly like the hotel in person. We didn't eat at the restaurant that is located in the hotel, but the food looked awesome.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Breakfast was not included in the price of the room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2006

We stayed here during our coast-to-coast drive across the US. This hotel has recently been refurbished and rebranded from a Holiday Inn to a Sheraton. Our room was generally very nice, with brand new modern décor, nice furniture and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was very small though, and not everything had been replaced – the tiling looked a bit old and the bath had a hole in the side which had been filled. The room was also a bit short on power sockets – the one by the desk was being used by the hotel broadband interface. Wired internet was $10 a night and a good speed. The rest of the hotel still needs some work – in places it smells of smoke and the lifts in particular are a bit grotty. We had quite a good room service meal, which ended up free because they didn’t deliver it within 30 minutes! Overall I think they’ve done quite a good job to renovate what was probably a very tired looking property. I would recommend this hotel but don’t expect everything to be new.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

Very nice hotel - better than most Sheratons. Service is great, rooms are very nice, and the workout rooms offer 7 pieces of cardio equipment as well as free weights and a basic weight machine. The lobby was also recently redone and is very nice - it often has conferences so beware the long elevator wait around 7:30 in the morning. The main drawback of this hotel is the room service which used to be great but recently changed and is now mediocre at best. Still, I would definitely recommend it to business or leisure travelers alike.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.