We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I hadn't planned on stopping in Des Moines, but bad weather forced us to stop for the night. The desk staff was very friendly, as was all of the staff we encountered. Our room was beautifully maintained, clean (a huge pet peeve of mine) and quiet. I never heard the neighbors, which is hard to find in a hotel.

I travel through Des Moines/West Des Moines several times a year and I will now be staying at this Sheraton for my stays. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    71
    57
    13
    16
See reviews for
53
30
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Just a one night visit to the area for a football game. We booked through the www.spg.com website, getting a good rate for a full service hotel. Think in terms of an Embassy Suites, rooms on the outside with a large floor to ceiling area in the middle. The noise from the atrium wasn't noticeable up on the 8th floor, but I think that if you were on a lower floor, it could be an issue. The room was nice but the bathroom was extremely small, which was typical for the era that the hotel was built. We will stay here again if the price is right, but there are lots of other places available on University that have easier access to your room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapello, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked an overnight stay and must say we were very pleased with the staff, whom were very helpful and courteous, and the room was very comfortable. The location was great... right off the interstate and right on University Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would say there's nothing special about this hotel, which is what I expected coming in--its a category 2 hotel. I booked using starpoints to visit my sister who lives in Waukee, IA, so the location was great as its right on University Ave. Nothing is really walking distance but that's to be expected in West Des Moines, and there are good restaurants and bars only a few miles away. Overall no complaints, pretty basic stay and good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stay at this hotel on business every summer, and have never been disappointed. The location is top notch, being right next to the interstate and also a major east-west thoroughfare in town.
Every staff member I've encountered has been fantastic, and seems to actually care if I'm satisfied or not. I mean, it doesn't seem like the usual act, which is odd in a good way.
The hotel is not new, but has been maintained well and is in great condition. The rooms are lovely, and cleanliness can be observed at more than a superficial level.
I can't comment on the restaurant, as I've never eaten there. Speaking of restaurants, there are many others within walking distance.
Last little bonus: It doesn't matter how old I get, glass elevators are always a tiny bit fun. :-)

Room Tip: If you like sleeping with white noise in the background, ask for a room near the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed here for three days on a business trip. The staff was exceptional! Truly exceptional with sincere midwest hospitality. The hotel building appears to be a former Doubletree hotel. The hotel is 100% smoke free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I was really looking forward to this hotel and was completely disappointed with the stay. We were a family with young children and I got the sense that the front desk really didn't want to deal with us and would have preferred that we were business people like everyone else. The room itself smelled really bad, like really gross body odour. The worst part of the stay was that there was a bar of soap in the toilet left by the previous guests. I didn't want to pick it out with my bare hands so I called housekeeping thinking that they would be able to get rid of it cleanly. The housekeeper had a pair of latex gloves on but flushed the toilet with the glove still on - thereby defeating the entire purpose of wearing gloves and contaminating the toilet handle. To top it off, the guy was so clumsy that he dropped a piece of the toilet soap on the floor. I didn't say anything about any of it fearing that it would just make things worse. I wish they would have just given me the glove and I could have handled it in a clean manner. That whole experience really made me wonder about the cleanliness of the seemingly clean room. The other thing that bugged me was that the hot water took forever to come on. The only good note that I can think of is the free parking which isn’t that common for a Sheraton. I think that I happened to have a bad experience but that that most people probably have a good one here. Based on my hunch, I would be willing to stay here again but I can't give a good review for the stay I just had.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.