We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
iowa city, ia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, attending a Volleyball tournament. We found the hotel easily. It is near the interstate and is visible from quite a distance. There are plenty of other hotels in the area, along with plenty of restaurants, gas stations and shopping. Check in was easy and quick. Our room was on the 9th floor. It is a 10 floor hotel. Our room was in the far corner of the hotel. The door was next to the stairway. It actually was considerably quieter in that spot, versus the door off the main floor. Our room was clean, smelled good, was spacious and was attractive. We had a 2 double bed room. The beds not quite as large as our previous hotels this year. The beds were very comfortable. Our tv was a flat screen and worked great. A decent channel selection. The buffet breakfast was delicious. I am not sure of the cost, because ours was included with our groups stay. Wi-fi was available from your room for a price. Wi-fi was free from the lobby area. So take your laptop and work from the lobby area. There are 3 or 4 computers available for use in the lobby. They worked great and printed without any trouble. We enjoyed this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    73
    61
    17
    16
See reviews for
56
30
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Overall I gave this hotel a very good rating based on a recent 4 night stay for a business trip. The hotel was clean, bed was comfortable, and house keeping did a wonderful job. There's a single serve coffee maker with Starbucks in each room and you can even arrange to have breakfast delivered to your room daily for a somewhat modest price. This was one of my better, more comfortable experiences for a business trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I took my boyfriend out to a nice meal at Jordan Creek town center in west des moines and wanted to stay at a nice hotel for the night together. It was perfect, very clean, friendly staff, nice updated rooms, free parking, quiet. The only downside was I thought it was a bit expensive for one night in a standar room, but the money is worth it. You'll have a wonderful nights sleep!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Friendly, helpful staff, great location, close to everything. Rooms are good size, always clean. Would highly recommend for a quality stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I took my kids to the Sheraton for just a weekend away while Dad was busy working. My kids loved it so much that when we went back to DSM for the state fair as a family two weeks later, we had to stay there again.
This hotel does not have any water parks or anything of that nature, but it is all newly renovated, clean, friendly staff and my kids LOVED the floor to ceiling windows and glass elevators! The staff was great about making recommendations for some fun things to do.
On our second visit I asked for a room on the highest floor possible facing downtown DSM and the staff happily upgraded us at no charge to the top floor (concierge level).
The pool, while small and a little chilly was sufficient and we used it during both stays.
If you are looking for something convient, this is it...right off of Interstate 35. If you are looking for something near lots of dining options...this is it. If you are looking for something near shopping, this is it. If you are looking for family entertainment, this is it.
Can't go wrong with the Sheraton West Des Moines!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The beds are hard and are not the "sweet sleepers" that are advertised on the Sheraton ads. They are called "plush" beds but are basically posterpedic beds that are hard. If you want a pillow top bed, do not stay here. We checked out after the first night. Don't drink the bottled water in the room or it will cost you $5 too. There were children running up and down the halls (no adults present) from a wedding party and when we summoned a security officier, they did nothing. The police finally showed up to do their job for them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Room was clean, bed was comfy and had a flat screen TV. The indoor atrium with water fall was cool. Breakfast buffet was good but you had to pay for it, the chef was great. Location was good, right off of I 235 and I 80, I 35. Would defiantly recommend hotel. Free parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.