We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Des Moines Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Des Moines Marriott to your Saves list
West Des Moines Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ida Grove, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this motel September 1, 2012. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We ate in the dining area and the food was delicious and priced about the same as anywhere else. On Sunday morning we enjoyed a breakfast buffet with omelets made to order. A shuttle was available that would take you to area restraunts and the mall. There was a full gym with updated equipment located near the pool area. I did notice a musty odor in that area, but the rest of the hotel smelled clean. The rooms appeared to be recently refurbished, beds were comfortable. The bedding and pillows were perfect. The only problem with the room was the air conditioner; it "clunked" when it started and shut off but it was such a minute issue that we didn't bother to complain to the front desk. Overall it was an enjoyable stay with an impressive staff and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
rejami ,

We would love for you to stay here again, Rejami. Thank you for your review and letting us know of your pleasant stay. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our Two Rivers dining and breakfast buffet. And glad to know you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. These are all nice things to hear from our guests. We hope you will return to Des Moines and stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    77
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
53
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend while doing some work in Iowa.

Pros:
* Great weekend rate <$110 a night
* Typical full service Marriott room
* Upgraded to a suite for the full weekend
* Pretty good bar food and happening bar areas
* Full gym with plenty of working equipment
* The concierge lounge puts on a spread in the evening (Closed on the weekends but open on Sunday evening before my departure on Monday morning).
* Very friendly and nice staff

Cons:

* It looks like the hotel has been refurbished recently especially in the rooms and lobby--spend a little money to make the elevators look new. Scratched and beat up elevators.
* Noticed a musty smell in the elevators and down the hallway leading to the fitness center

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
KentuckyDerbyfan,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re glad you were able to stay with us for the weekend and had a pleasant experience. Thank you for your compliments about our facility and staff. We invite you to come and stay with us again if you return to Des Moines for either business or leisure.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this motel July 16-20, 2012 when we attended International Ford Retractable Club National Convention. Our room was spacious and reliably cool. We asked for a small refrigerator to store medications and they were quick to bring one to the room. The elevators were in great condition and rarely did we have to wait for one.
The rooms used for our hospitlity room and banquet room were very nice. The banquet food was exceptional. Our waiter could have used more help in serving the tables because he had to walk the entire banquet floor carrying only 2 plates at a time. We wanted to offer our help to him. We felt sorry for him. Perhaps the hotel should consider a food cart when waiters must serve customers so far from kitchen entry.
The weather was very hot, but the hotel provided our club with plenty of cold water.
Because it was a convention of classic cars, the hotel provided us with amble room to park our tow vehicle and rig and space for access nightly to store our car.
Overall, we experienced great mid-west hospitality at this motel. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Murphydd,

Welcome, IFRC Member, we’re very happy to have had you stay with us at Marriott. Thank you for taking a moment and writing a wonderful review on TripAdvisor about our facility and staff. I’m glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you well. We enjoyed your group and really liked looking at the spectacular classics parked outside of our hotel. We hope you will come and stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wonderful decor, restaurant was nice, beds were comfortable, but rooms were very smelly. I was moved to two different rooms on two different floors and both smelled like pungent dirty socks. Very musty. Not sure what the deal is...Marriott is always very reliable. Hard to believe I spent $189 for a malodorous, smelly room. I was told the hotel is booked and not many rooms were available as alternatives. I have a difficult time believing others have not complained.

Room Tip: Just ask the hotel clerk for a room without an odor. Surely they must have rooms that don't sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
FreqTraveler43323,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to have had you stay with us at Marriott. I’m glad you enjoyed our restaurant and found the beds to be comfortable. I’m not sure what kinds of odors you experienced during your stay, but I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff. I can assure you that we have an exceptional team who work hard to provide the cleanest, most comfortable suites for our guests. I do hope you will come and stay with us again for a more pleasant visit.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The boyfriend and I stayed here for our first romantic/Iowa State fair getaway weekend. I was so impressed by everything. The front desk was VERY helpful and everyone seemed very nice!! Definitely going to stay there again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Sierra P,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re very glad you had a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Iowa State Fair. We hope to see you next year.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family has a reunion here every year. The rooms are newly decorated this year and look great. The new lobby is very modern and comfortable. As always, the front desk is very helpful. The Sunday breakfast buffett was very good and a good value. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
OmahaNEOmaha,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear from you and pleased to know you enjoyed our newly decorated hotel. I appreciate you complimenting our exceptional staff and delicious breakfast buffet as well. We hope you will stay with us again for next year’s family reunion.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights with a USTA tennis team for the sectionals tournament. Hotel has been remodeled since we stayed 2 years ago. Very nice decor, comfortable beds and bedding. Free wifi internet was very nice also. Was hoping to get a small refridgerator for our room, but none were available. Our room was right off the lobby, first floor - we were concerned about noise, but it was not an issue. The air conditioner in our room was very noisy - made it hard to sleep. A few things we were not happy with - they did not refill the coffee in our room - had to go looking for it and a lid for my cup. Tried calling the front desk from my phone - button didn't work. Went out in the lobby, and the front desk was not too helpful. Bartender was very helpful - had both a coffee packet and a lid. Also - they did not give us a new bar of soap after our first two nights - had to ask for that too. They also told us bagels would be available for purchase at 5:30am the next morning - and they were not there. We had a 6:30 am match to get to. As one of the host hotels for the tournament, they did not seem very accomodating. As far as a nice place to stay - very good for that. Excellent location and facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Tblakl,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing about us on TripAdvisor. We’re very pleased to have had you stay with us during the sectionals tournament. I’m glad to hear you liked our renovations and found our hotel to be contemporary and comfortable. I apologize for the mishaps during your stay. We strive to provide our valued guests with exceptional service so I understand your comments fully. Your review will be discussed in our next weekly staff meeting. Thank you again. We hope to have you and your team members stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Des Moines Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Des Moines Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.