We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Life = Loud Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in West Des Moines
Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Night Life = Loud Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This Drury Inn is in the middle of a vibrant night life on Des Moines weekends. There was live music, lots of crowded roof top bars, and lack of parking. We cruised the parking lot for 15 minutes just looking for a place to park. The party atmosphere continued inside. A guest was at the front desk when we went to check in, complaining of the loud music outside and the party noise inside preventing him from doing work for his business trip. He asked to see the manager, who had already gone home. The hotel staff was very friendly and upfront, informing us that the cable was down in their hotel. They offered to find another hotel with cable, which we accepted as the hotel was not the quiet retreat we were looking for. The hotel looked clean and new.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    42
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
54
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Courteous staff, nicely appointed room, great happy hour, good hot breakfast selection; close to shopping and good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I have stayed here many times for business. You can't go wrong. Great price, clean updated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed here during state basketball weekend, lots of people(lots of teenagers). The hotel was very clean and quiet. We were checked in immediately.
We didn't use the free drinks and food at 5:30 but thought that was a great bonus. We did get free pop and popcorn, kids liked that. The pool was crowded, small but nice and the kids liked being able to swim to the outside of the pool.
We had an adjoining room with friends and had our 11 month old sleeping in our room and the rest of us(4 adults and 6 kids) in the other. I could not hear a thing when I would go to check on the baby. So nice to not have paper thin walls.
Beds were nice and comfortable. Room was very clean and modern. This will be my first choice the next time we are in Des Moines.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites in West Des Moines during a road trip to see the covered bridges of Madison County (well worth the trouble to find them, believe me!). The Drury Inn was excellent. I have no complaints at all except for the 8 inches of snow but that is not the hotel's fault! The happy hour at 5:30 was great and we both enjoyed our 3 free drinks and munchies. The room was excellent - clean, wonderful shower, nice beds, big rooms, flat screen tv. I especially liked that they gave you 3 different pillows - soft, medium, and firm. Nice idea. The breakfast was standard free breakfast fare but there was plenty of it, the staff worked hard to keep it stocked and clean. I was really impressed with how large the seating area was in the happy hour/breakfast area. I really saw no one waiting for a seat. For $100 a night you can't get much better. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We held our family Christmas get-together here with an age range of 1 - 88 years! Everyone had a great time and the service was some of the best we have ever experienced. They truly looked for ways to make us happy and they certainly did. Every staff person we came in contact with must have taken training in customer service, as we have stayed at many places over the yearsand this place is truly at the top as far as customer service! The only thing we would have liked to seen is a room for family to gather that had more of a 'cozier' feel to it. Being the Christmas season, it would have been nice to have had a tree, and also access to water, such as a sink and counter, but we made it work. Thank-you for making our family Christmas a memorable, fun, comfortable and wonderful event. This is our new favorite place to stay in the Des Moines area. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed with a group of girls (ladies) for a girls weekend out and would highly recommend this place to anyone. Very clean, and courteous. Within walking distance to some great places to eat, drink and be merry and the staff was very tolerable to a group of intoxicated women. We all had a blast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#6 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Drury is conveniently located within walking distance of a the Jordan Creek Town Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.