We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our first stay at a Drury and it was clear where all the good reviews come from. Easy access from I 35 and it sits at the entrance to a neighborhood-type shopping area (we didn't have time to explore it.) Fastest check-in, period. Excellent customer service. Rooms were very clean, though the recliner in our room had seen a few spills. I never sleep well in hotels, but I did here. Very comfortable beds, including the pillows, which were supportive but soft and didn't wrench my neck. Nice big bathroom with shower mounted dispensers of soap, shampoo, and conditioner (great for kids.) Pretty quiet, though our wake-up call was the neighbor's shower. The food is a great perk. Hot dogs, baked potatoes, salad, nacho fixings, and some sort of soup/chili seemed standard with a rotating dish of some sort of pasta. Breakfast had the normal offerings of sausage, eggs, waffles, and also real hot oatmeal (not the packets) with a variety of toppings available. The couple in charge of the food service are exceptionally friendly. A couple of hiccups for us. The hotel was full and we occasionally had a long wait for an elevator. We took the stairs more than once, even though we were on the 6th floor. The 2 elevators are at the entrance to the food area, so the congestion there was pretty bad at meal times. The evening food line was long with tired, whiny kids and both times we had to take our food to our room because there wasn't a free table (not really the hotel's fault- the eating area is quite large.) The indoor/outdoor pool was nice, but pretty small for a hotel full of families. We bought lunches and put them in the fridge, which was running, only to find them room temp. the next morning (staff quickly credited the cost of the food to our bill.) Friends told us later that the fridge had to be removed from the cabinet it was in and the temp. adjusted from the back. But this is being nit-picky- clearly this place is far superior to most of what's out there. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    36
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
41
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Drury. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The meals, dinner and breakfast, were excellent. Loved the free drink idea! :-)
It was all good. The only suggestion I would have is for them to get new comforters!! Those old fashioned slippery bedspreads are awful
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is another nice, clean, friendly place to stay, and you don't have to pay for all of the extras just like they say. You can have your free breakfast buffet, and your 5:30 hot snacks buffet, with 3 free drinks included. So kick back and enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here in the past. The customer service here is top notch. The staff is very friendly and genuinely help and serve their customers. The room was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The drink line was very long/slow the 2nd night at the Manager's Reception but the bartenders kept a positive attitude and the manager was also there to help where needed. Food ran out quickly, but the staff kept hard at work replenishing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were just passing thru town & stopped at about 9:00 pm to get a good night sleep before moving on....very comfortable beds. This is only 2nd time we have stayed at a Drury property....both times are a winner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Was booked into this hotel for a conference. All of the facilities that I saw or used were nice, clean, comfortable room and quiet. The evening reception provided multiple snack options that would suffice for a meal; chicken strips, hot dogs, baked potatoes, chili, nachos etc. The bartender was pleasant and managed demanding people well. Breakfast was above average with multiple hot items, muffins bagels etc. We were also provided a lunch of sandwiches/wraps and several salads. All were tasty and plenty to choose from. Some of our team were booked into "board rooms" which contained a conference table space with separate bed/bath rooms. This would be ok except for the expectation to be out earlier so the room could be prepped for meetings. Location is good in the West Glen area so that shopping and restaurants were close if needed. The front desk gal was very pleasant, welcoming and efficient.
Because the front parking was full I saw parking in the back with an access door close. unfortunately it is locked for use with room key 24/7 which was not obvious until I had hauled my luggage up there in the rain and had to take it back and go around front to check in. I think locking in the evening might be adequate to allow for this sort of circumstance but is not a very significant issue. The lighting in several of the conference/meeting rooms were constantly surging which folks struggled with in terms of affect on eyes/headaches, and the large conference room seating was standard and uncomfortable for full day seating. My first room key did not work which meant I had to haul stuff back down to the front desk to replace it and a scratch in the keycard was identified with the second key working just fine. I have lost the ability to confidently figure out alarm clocks in many hotels so I have given up and use the wake up call service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved staying at this hotel! Awesome hot meal, drinks, and popcorn included in the stay as well as the breakfast! Can't beat the 2 meals provided in the hotel price! Staff was helpful and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#7 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Drury is conveniently located within walking distance of a the Jordan Creek Town Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.