We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in West Des Moines
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at the Drury Inn and Suites for one night. Got the King suite. Room was great! Very spacious and clean. Staff were all incredibly nice and helpful. Free drinks and food in the evening and great breakfast buffet. Would highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    36
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
41
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed at Drury Inns before, but this one is the nicest I've ever seen. The lobby is beautiful - my husband and I brought dessert back after dinner and sat by the TV to eat it, and it was really cozy. The rooms are large, very clean, and quiet. You can't beat the location, near Jordan Creek shopping and dining. Breakfast was wonderful as was happy hour. We will be in Des Moines again and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have previously stayed in Drury Inn's and knew what tpo expect. A clean comfortable room. What we were most surprised by was the Kick back evening snacks, meal and drinks. The food was very good the one evening we were there. August 23, 2012. We had a veggie tray, brocoli cheddar soup, salad, hot dogs, chicken nuggets and strips, along with macaroni and cheese. It was all hot and we each were able to have 3 cocktails or soft drinks. Staff was friendly and helpful and we will stay here again if we are in Des Moines, Iowa area. The hot breakfast was again served hot, french toast, sauage, biscuits and gravy, eggs , juices and cold cereal. Our oversized king room had a separate bedroom and 2 chairs with ottoman and 2 TV. Price was 125.00 + tax...very good value.

Room Tip: we asked for away from elevator and ice machine and we did not hear any sounds...we were on 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very nice hotel...clean and comfortable....booked bed and breakfast and we were told that there was also a free buffet meal with free drinks as well in the evening...big bonus.....very nice staff who were very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

They were packed the weekend we visited, but they still had excellent service! Free drinks and food were a huge bonus! Pool was a little small but still fun. Definitely recommend! Very pet friendly but still clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on a Sunday. Hotel was packed, but Drury Inn and Suites does an exceptional job of hospitality. Heavy appitizers, chicken strips, hot dogs, nachos, etc plus 3 free drinks for each adult. (Beer, Wine, Mixed Drinks, Margaritas...). All included.

The breakfast was a full breakfast all included. Rooms are large, high ceilings, and CLEAN.

This is my new place to stay in Des Moines.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've made several trips to Des Moines, and this is where we will stay from now on. This is a very nice hotel. The staff was courteous, the rooms were clean and quiet, and the beds were comfortable. This is probably one of the nicer properties we've stayed at in a while. The only thing I could nitpick at was the shower head did not swivel, and when you're over 6' tall that's a nice feature to have. The breakfast bar had a nice variety, but the eggs and sausage were not very good. I don't worry too much about the breakfast, my main concern is getting a good night's sleep, and that I did. There are several restaurants across the street from the hotel in an apartment/shopping/dining complex, and we had an excellent meal at Gino's. A great meal and a great night's sleep is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#7 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Drury is conveniently located within walking distance of a the Jordan Creek Town Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.