We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great WARM pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn West Des Moines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn West Des Moines to your Saves list
Days Inn West Des Moines
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1258 8th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50265   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in West Des Moines
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    78
    49
    28
See reviews for
118
28
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our room looked tidy on the surface but it wasn't actually clean. I found hair on the furniture. Weird stuff was crusted on the (peeling) wallpaper. I actually cleaned some white crusty stains off of a chair because they were grossing me out too much. The bedside lamps were both falling off the wall. Our bed had a broken slat sticking out of the bottom (and the mattress was quite worn). We traveled with other family members who had similar experiences with their rooms.

The hallways were very dark and the carpet was worn. I spotted trash on the lobby floors and table, right in sight of the front desk. The pool area is spacious and has lots of natural light, but there's mold growing on the walls. The breakfast area is pretty nice though the food options aren't great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was fine, could use a fresh coat of paint and carpet in hallways needs to be cleaned or replaced. Continental breakfast could use a few more choices
, like waffles or eggs., tv worked but it was the old style.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was traveling due to going to see and good friend in rockford and I ended up staying at this hotel because I was sick of riding the bus and needed some sleep and a shower. When I got there I got there really early in the morning, they checked me in early and were very nice and wanted to make sure I was comfy by all mean.

When i got to the room I loved the fact that it had a inside door to my room and a outside door to my room, it made me feel like it was a little apt..

Very clean rooms as well, great water pressure in the showers , heater worked great. Nice soft comfy beds as well!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

i checked in late and noticed bugs ..alot in the windows.....went to bed and in the morning there were bugs every where..in the bathroom. ceiling, and tables. the manager said that is common. every hotel has them...ya right!!!!!! no credit our comp.....i will never go back

Room Tip: one without bugs.....check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
2.1 mi away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#16 of 18 in West Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#15 of 18 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive / West Des Moines
4.9 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#4 of 18 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn West Des Moines

Address: 1258 8th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn West Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Best Western West Des Moines
West Des Moines Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn West Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.